Ireland flanker Josh van der Flier wins World Rugby men's Player of the Year award

Josh van der Flier had a sensational year for Ireland
Josh van der Flier had a sensational year for Ireland
©Steve Haag

Ireland flanker Josh van der Flier has been named the men's Player of the Year at the World Rugby Awards on Sunday.

Van der Flier has overcome challenges from his team skipper Johnny Sexton along with Antoine Dupont and Lukhanyo Am to claim the award. He also was named the 2022 EPCR European Player of the Year award earlier in the year.

He was also part of the Ireland squad that finished second in the Six Nations earlier in the year and also defeated the All Blacks 2-1 for the first time in New Zealand. Ireland also were unbeaten in the autumn international campaign that saw them beat South Africa, Fiji and Australia which was a betting promotion codes top pick.

"I've been incredibly fortunate to have great team-mates and coaches that have really pushed me on. As well, my wife and my family have supported me a huge amount, " Van der Flier said.

"I'm lucky to have some very experienced and top-quality players in our team and in my position as well, both in Ireland and at Leinster.

"I've always felt that I've needed to have been playing at my best the whole time otherwise I wouldn't be playing and that's certainly driven me on."

The coach of the year award was won by World Cup winning Black Ferns coach Wayne Smith while New Zealand co-captain Ruahei Demant was named as the World Rugby Women's 15s Player of the Year 2022.

New Zealand Women's team had further success with Ruby Tui winning the World Rugby Women's 15s Breakthrough Player of the Year award while Italy's Ange Capuozzo was named World Rugby Men's 15s Breakthrough Player of the Year.

Abby Dow's try against Canada was named International Rugby Players Women's Try of the Year with Rodrigo Fernandez won the International Rugby Players Men's Try of the Year award during the Chile v US game.

"I just want to send out all my thanks to World Rugby and to England for being able to support me and the team so we can put out performances like that," she said at the awards ceremony.

"It was end-to-end rugby; it came from the forwards to the backs, and everyone just did their jobs to the best of their abilities. It was incredible.

"The whole of England has been behind us, we felt it before we went (to the World Cup) and we felt it since we've been back. It's been incredible to be a part of it."

World Rugby Awards 2022

  • Women’s 15s Player of the Year – Ruahei Demant (New Zealand)
  • Men’s 15s Player of the Year – Josh van der Flier (Ireland)
  • Coach of the Year – Wayne Smith (New Zealand Women’s 15s)
  • Men’s Breakthrough Player of the Year – Ange Capuozzo (Italy)
  • Women’s Breakthrough Player of the Year – Ruby Tui (New Zealand)
  • Men’s Sevens Player of the Year – Terry Kennedy (Ireland)
  • Women’s Sevens Player of the Year – Charlotte Caslick (Australia)
  • Referee Award – Tappe Henning (South Africa)
  • Vernon Pugh Award for Distinguished Service – Dr Farah Palmer (New Zealand)
  • International Rugby Players Special Merit Award – Bryan Habana (South Africa)
  • International Rugby Players Men’s Try of the Year – Rodrigo Fernandez (Chile, v USA on 9 July)
  • International Rugby Players Women’s Try of the Year – Abby Dow (England, v Canada on 5 November)
  • Men’s 15s Dream Team: 1. Ellis Genge (England) 2. Malcolm Marx (South Africa) 3. Tadhg Furlong (Ireland) 4. Tadhg Beirne (Ireland) 5. Sam Whitelock (New Zealand) 6. Pablo Matera (Argentina) 7. Josh van der Flier (Ireland) 8. Grégory Alldritt (France) 9. Antoine Dupont (France) 10. Johnny Sexton (Ireland) 11. Marika Koroibete (Australia) 12. Damian de Allende (South Africa) 13. Lukhanyo Am (South Africa) 14. Will Jordan (New Zealand) 15. Freddie Steward (England).
  • Women’s 15s Dream Team: 1. Hope Rogers (USA) 2. Emily Tuttosi (Canada) 3. Sarah Bern (England) 4. Abbie Ward (England) 5. Madoussou Fall (France) 6. Alex Matthews (England) 7. Marlie Packer (England) 8. Sophie de Goede (Canada) 9. Laure Sansus (France) 10. Ruahei Demant (New Zealand) 11. Ruby Tui (New Zealand) 12. Theresa Fitzpatrick (New Zealand) 13. Emily Scarratt (England) 14. Portia Woodman (New Zealand) 15. Abby Dow (England).

Ireland Fixtures