Johnny Sexton returns as Ireland make seven changes for Australia clash

Johnny Sexton has returned to captain Ireland
Johnny Sexton has returned to captain Ireland
©Steve Haag

Ireland skipper Johnny Sexton has returned to the starting line up as they face Australia in the upcoming Autumn International fixture at Aviva Stadium on Saturday.

Sexton has recovered from a dead leg that forced him to miss the game against Fiji and now replaces the injured Joey Carbery which is one of the seven changes made by head coach Andy Farrell.

Hugo Keenan comes in at fullback with Jimmy O'Brien switching to left wing with Mack Hansen moving to right as Robert Baloucoune drops out of the matchday squad.

Garry Ringrose returns to midfield replacing injured Robbie Henshaw while Stuart McCloskey retains his place at inside centre.

Prop Andrew Porter and hooker Dan Sheehan come into the front row of the scrum to join Tadhg Furlong while a new look backrow has Caelan Doris, Josh van der Flier and Peter O'Mahony.

Ireland: 15 Hugo Keenan, 14 Mack Hansen, 13 Garry Ringrose, 12 Stuart McCloskey, 11 Jimmy O’Brien, 10 Johnny Sexton (captain), 9 Jamison Gibson-Park, 8 Caelan Doris, 7 Josh van der Flier, 6 Peter O’Mahony, 5 James Ryan, 4 Tadhg Beirne, 3 Tadhg Furlong, 2 Dan Sheehan, 1 Andrew Porter.

Reserves: 16 Rob Herring, 17 Cian Healy, 18 Finlay Bealham, 19 Joe McCarthy, 20 Jack Conan, 21 Craig Casey, 22 Jack Crowley, 23 Bundee Aki.


Ireland Fixtures