England release Robshaw and Joseph from Six Nations squad ahead of Italy clash

Chris Robshaw drops out of contention for Italy game
Chris Robshaw drops out of contention for Italy game

England coach Eddie Jones has named a trimmed 27-man squad that will be in contention for the upcoming Six Nations clash against Italy to be played at Twickenham Stadium on Saturday.

Chris Robshaw, who last played for England during the summer series last year had knee surgery and was recalled to the England squad last week but now has been released with Mark Wilson being preferred over him. Also released from the squad is Jonathan Joseph, who also was involved for the first time after ankle surgery.

Saracens lock Maro Itoje, who had a knee injury during the opening game against Ireland had an injury scare on Tuesday when he limped off the training and Bath's Charlie Ewels has been retained as a cover. Ollie Thorley has also been retained as a cover for Jack Nowell, who sustained a shoulder injury during the game against Wales.

"It's an opportunity to change a few things, so we'll look to mix it up a little bit," said attack coach Scott Wisemantel.

"But look at the teams who have played Italy - they haven't changed a lot. Scotland, Wales and Ireland have stuck to their structures and we won't go too far away from ours.

"It will be interesting to see what Italy bring, so we've prepared for all sorts of scenarios.

England squad

Forwards: Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers), Luke Cowan-Dickie (Exeter Chiefs), Tom Curry (Sale Sharks), Charlie Ewels (Bath Rugby), Ellis Genge (Leicester Tigers), Jamie George (Saracens), Nathan Hughes (Wasps), Maro Itoje (Saracens), George Kruis (Saracens), Joe Launchbury (Wasps), Ben Moon (Exeter Chiefs), Brad Shields (Wasps), Kyle Sinckler (Harlequins), Billy Vunipola (Saracens), Mark Wilson (Newcastle Falcons)

Backs: Joe Cokanasiga (Bath Rugby), Elliot Daly (Wasps), Owen Farrell (Saracens) captain, George Ford (Leicester Tigers), Jonny May (Leicester Tigers), Jack Nowell (Exeter Chiefs), Dan Robson (Wasps), Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs), Ollie Thorley (Gloucester Rugby), Ben Te’o (Worcester Warriors), Manu Tuilagi (Leicester Tigers), Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers)