Danny Care returns to England squad for clash against Barbarians

Danny Care last played for England in November 2018
Danny Care last played for England in November 2018

England coach Eddie Jones has recalled Harlequins scrum-half Danny Care in the 36-man squad ahead of the clash against Barbarians to be played at Twickenham Stadium on Sunday.

Care last played for the red rose team in November 2018 but has been handed a lifeline following his impressive season for the Quins where he was amongst the shortlist for the Premiership Player of the Season.

The squad does not include players from Saracens and Leicester Tigers, who are set to feature in the Gallagher Premiership final on Saturday at Twickenham Stadium.

"This is a strong, diverse squad," said Jones. "There are a lot of exciting, young players and some experienced players who have another opportunity to shine.

"Everyone will be given the chance to make their case for being part of the Australia tour squad while we prepare for the Barbarians."

Following the game against the Barbarians, England will lock horns with Australia in a three-game Test series to be played in Perth, Brisbane and Sydney on 2nd, 9th and 16th July respectively.

England squad:

Forwards: Biyi Alo (Wasps), Alfie Barbeary (Wasps), Jamie Blamire (Newcastle Falcons), Callum Chick (Newcastle Falcons), Freddie Clarke (Gloucester) Tom Curry (Sale Sharks) Trevor Davison (Newcastle Falcons), Charlie Ewels (Bath), Will Goodrick-Clarke (London Irish), Jonny Hill (Exeter Chiefs), Ted Hill (Worcester Warriors), Sam Jeffries (Bristol Bears), George McGuigan (Newcastle Falcons), Tom Pearson (London Irish), Bevan Rodd (Sale Sharks), Patrick Schickerling (Exeter Chiefs), Jack Singleton (Gloucester), Will Stuart (Bath), Sam Underhill (Bath), Jack Willis (Wasps)

Backs: Henry Arundell (London Irish), Charlie Atkinson (Wasps), Mark Atkinson (Gloucester), Orlando Bailey (Bath), Joe Cokanasiga (Bath), Ollie Hassell-Collins (London Irish), Will Joseph (London Irish), Jonny May (Gloucester), Jack Nowell (Exeter Chiefs), Paolo Odogwu (Wasps), Max Ojomoh (Bath), Tom Parton (London Irish), Adam Radwan (Newcastle Falcons), Harry Randall (Bristol Bears), Dan Robson (Wasps)