Six uncapped players in Australia squad for England series

Michael Hooper will continue to lead Australia
Michael Hooper will continue to lead Australia

Australia head coach Dave Rennie has included six uncapped players in the squad for the upcoming home series against England to be played in July.

Fly-half Quade Cooper along with backs Samu Kerevi and Marika Koroibete are included under “Giteau Law” that applies to players plying trade overseas while Reece Hodge misses out. Izack Rodda is also another notable omission as he is recovering from a foot injury.

Kurtley Beale is also back in the international set up following his stint in France while Michael Hooper continues to lead the 35-man squad.

Pone Fa'amausili, Nick Frost , Cadeyrn Neville, Jed Holloway, Dave Porecki and former rugby league star Suliasi Vunivalu are the uncapped players included by Rennie.

“The past two years have allowed us to build strong foundations as a group but there’s no doubt we have a lot more in us,” said Rennie.

“We’re looking forward to working hard and preparing as a group to put in performances that make our supporters proud against England next month.”

The three-game Test series will kick-start on 2nd July at Perth Stadium.

Australia squad:

Forwards: Dave Porecki, Lachlan Lonergan, Folau Fainga’a, Taniela Tupou, Scott Sio, Allan Alaalatoa, Pone Fa'amausili, James Slipper, Angus Bell, Matt Philip, Jed Holloway, Nick Frost, Cadeyrn Neville, Darcy Swain, Michael Hooper (capt), Pete Samu, Harry Wilson, Rob Valetini, Rob Leota.

Backs: Nic White, Tate McDermott, Jake Gordon, Quade Cooper, James O’Connor, Noah Lolesio, Samu Kerevi, Hunter Paisami, Izaia Perese, Len Ikitau, Marika Koroibete, Andrew Kellaway, Tom Banks, Suliasi Vunivalu, Tom Wright, Jordan Petaia.