Dan Biggar to lead Wales in 2022 Six Nations

Dan Biggar will be leading Wales for first time
Dan Biggar will be leading Wales for first time

Wales head coach Wayne Pivac has named Dan Biggar the captain for the upcoming Six Nations 2022 tournament.

Biggar will lead the side in the absence of Alun Wyn Jones, who is recovering from a shoulder injury.

With George North, Leigh Halfpenny, Ken Owens, Josh Navidi, Justin Tipuric and Taulupe Faletau also unavailable due to injuries, Adam Beard has been named the deputy to Biggar. The squad contains three uncapped players in Dewi Lake, Jac Morgan and James Ratti.

Ross Moriarty, who missed the autumn internationals due to a shoulder injury returns to make the squad as they assemble at the national training base at Hensol on Monday.

“In terms of captaincy, we’ve named Dan Biggar," said Pivac.

“With the experience missing, we wanted someone who had experienced the competition on a number of occasions and knows the rigours of it.

“He gives us that. He has 95 Wales caps and he has toured with the British and Irish Lions.

“Dan has the respect of the other players and management, so we think he will do a great job.”

Wales will begin their Six Nations campaign with a clash against Ireland at Aviva Stadium on 5th February.

Wales squad:

Forwards: Rhys Carre, Wyn Jones, Gareth Thomas, Ryan Elias, Dewi Lake, Bradley Roberts, Leon Brown, Tomas Francis, Dillon Lewis, Adam Beard (v-c), Ben Carter, Seb Davies, Will Rowlands, Christ Tshiunza, Taine Basham, Ellis Jenkins, Jac Morgan, Ross Moriarty, James Ratti, Aaron Wainwright.

Backs: Gareth Davies, Kieran Hardy, Tomos Williams, Gareth Anscombe, Dan Biggar (c), Rhys Priestland, Callum Sheedy, Jonathan Davies, Uilisi Halaholo, Nick Tompkins, Owen Watkin, Josh Adams, Alex Cuthbert, Louis Rees-Zammit, Johnny McNicholl, Liam Williams.