Connacht confirm departing players

Connacht were the winners of the 2015/16 season of Pro12
Connacht were the winners of the 2015/16 season of Pro12

Connacht have confirmed 12 players leaving the Pro 14 club next month following the end of their contracts.

Hooker Tom McCartney has announced retirement from the game and will be heading to New Zealand after making 112 appearances for them while Eoin McKeon, who was also a member of the Pro12 winning Connacht side in the 2015/16 season leaves after racking up 137 appearances.

Niyi Adeolokun and Darragh Leader, who combined have close to 200 appearances between them also leave the club along with trio Kyle Godwin, David Horwitz and Joe Maksymiw, who complete their two-year contracts.

The other players to part ways with the club include Colby Fainga’a, Robin Copeland, Angus Lloyd, Rory Burke and Peter McCabe.

“The nature of professional rugby means there will always be comings and goings," said Connacht head coach Andy Friend.

"I would personally like to wish all our departing players every success in the future and thank them for their contributions to Connacht Rugby, both on and off the field.

We all share in the players’ disappointment that they were unable to get a proper send-off at the Sportsground due to COVID, but they can be always assured of a warm welcome by the club and our supporters at any time in the future.”

Pro14 Points Table