Australia's Super Rugby competition to kick-start on 3rd July

Super Rugby AU will be played between 3rd July and 19th September
Super Rugby AU will be played between 3rd July and 19th September

Rugby Australia has confirmed that their domestic Super Rugby competition will begin on 3rd July.

Known as "Super Rugby AU", the competition will be expected to provide relief to the Australian board after they were hit by financial loss following the disruption of domestic and international matches due to the pandemic coronavirus.

The four Super Rugby teams of Australia - Reds, Brumbies, Waratahs and Rebels will be joined by Perth based Western Force in the tournament which will have 10 rounds with two games every weekend and will be played until 19th September.

The opening game of the tournament will see Reds hosting Waratahs in Brisbane on 3rd July.

"Our focus is now back where it should be, getting ... Super Rugby AU up and running next month and watching our five Australian teams go head-to-head in week after week of Aussie derby action," said interim CEO of Rugby Australia Rob Clarke.

In the process, Australia will become the second country to restart professional rugby after New Zealand following the suspension due to the outbreak of Covid-19.

While South Africa is also expected to have a home-based tournament, Sunwolves and Jaguares face uncertain future following the abandonment of Super Rugby 2020 season due to the travel restrictions in place across various countries.