Ulster confirm nine departing players at end of 2023/24 season

Ulster are at sixth place in the United Rugby Championship
Ulster are at sixth place in the United Rugby Championship
©Steve Haag

Ulster Rugby have announced that nine players will be leaving the Welsh province at the end of the 2023/24 season.

Will Addison, Billy Burns and Dave Ewers lead the departing players with 166 caps between them. Luke Marshall will be retiring at the end of the campaign after playing for the province 166 times.

Apart from the four, Greg Jones (44), Angus Curtis (25 – retired), Steven Kitshoff (14), James French (4) and Shea O’Brien (1) are the other players confirmed to leave the club.

“On behalf of everyone at Ulster Rugby, I would like to say thank-you to the players that will be leaving the club at the end of the season," said Ulster Head of Rugby Operations and Recruitment Bryn Cunningham.

“Despite all being at various stages of their careers, with some having spent many years at the club and others at the start of their professional rugby, it is important to acknowledge the positive impact that each individual has made on the club, both on and off the pitch and in terms of their professionalism day in, day out.

“I would, however, like to give special mention to Lukey having been a proud servant of Ulster Rugby for the past fifteen years. He epitomises what it is to be one of the Ulster men, after starting out with Ballymena RFC and going on to represent his club, country and family at the highest level of the game. He is the template in terms of character for what pathway players should aspire to be."

Ulster are positioned sixth in the United Rugby Championship table with 10 wins from 16 matches.