Sharks confirm 27-man touring squad for Super Rugby quarter-finals against Brumbies

Tendai Mtawarira will miss the play-off game due to injury
Tendai Mtawarira will miss the play-off game due to injury

Sharks head coach Robert du Preez has confirmed a 27-man squad for their upcoming Super Rugby play-off game against Brumbies to be played at GIO Stadium on Saturday.

Sharks edged out South African rivals Stormers 9-12 in their final round clash to reach the quarter-final where they will lock horns with the Canberra based club.

Tendai Mtawarira, who missed last weekend's clash with an injury has not been considered for selection while loose forwards Philip van der Walt and Jean-Luc du Preez have also failed the fitness test.

Hooker Craig Burden and utility back Curwin Bosch have overcome their respective injuries to make it to the squad and will be in contention for the weekend's encounter.

Sharks 27-man squad squad:

Forwards: Juan Schoeman, Mzamo Majola, Kerron van Vuuren, Craig Burden, Cullen Collopy, Coenie Oosthuizen, Thomas du Toit, John-Hubert Meyer, Ruben van Heerden, Gideon Koegelenberg, Hyron Andrews, Daniel du Preez, Jacques Vermeulen, Tyler Paul, Luke Stringer

Backs: Louis Schreuder (c), Cameron Wright, Robert du Preez, Curwin Bosch, Makazola Mapimpi, Andre Esterhuizen, Jeremy Ward, Lukhanyo Am, Kobus van Wyk, S’bu Nkosi, Aphelele Fassi, Rhyno Smith

Super Rugby Points Table