Match Report: Leinster 35-19 Northampton Saints

Cian Healy was one of the try-scorer for Leinster
Cian Healy was one of the try-scorer for Leinster

Leinster 35-19 Northampton Saints, Royal Dublin Society

Leinster maintained their unbeaten run in the season as they defeated Northampton 35-19 in the second round of the Heineken Champions Cup at Royal Dublin Society.

The win has taken Leinster to the top of the table while Northampton's with their second defeat from as many games are at ninth place.

Leinster were hit by two injury blows with Ross Byrne and Caelan Doris replaced just before the kick-off. It took Leinster just two minutes to start the proceedings with Josh Murphy touching down and Ross Byrne kicked the conversion.

A collision between Jimmy O'Brien and Garry Ringrose saw both the players leave the field even though the latter returned back in the 27th minute. A quick tap and go saw Leinster score their second try in the 16th minute with Cian Healy dotting down that Byrne improved.

The Saints' made a fightback when Fraser Dingwall crossed over in the 22nd minute and Rory Hutchinson kicked the extras but Byrne kicked his maiden penalty penalty goal in the 28th minute making the scoreline 17-7.

The final five minutes in the opening half saw Tom James and Dave Kearney exchange tries as the teams went into the break with a 22-14 scorleine.

Leinster started the proceedings in the second half with Jamison Gibson-Park breached the defence of the Saints to cross the whitewash but the Saints immediately responded back with a try from Nick Isiekwe to make the scoreline 29-19.

From there on the Saints failed to add any further point while Byrne kicked two penalties to complete a 16-point win for the Irish side.

Team line-up:

Leinster: O'Brien, Keenan, Ringrose, Henshaw, Kearney, R Byrne, Gibson-Park, Healy, R Kelleher, Porter, Baird, Ryan, Murphy, van der Flier, Ruddock.

Reserves: Tracy, Dooley, Bent, Molony, Leavy, McGrath, Frawley, C Kelleher.

Northampton Saints: Collins, Olowofela, Dingwall, Hutchinson, Naiyaravoro; Furbank, James; Waller (c), Matavesi, Hill, Moon, Ratuniyarawa; Isiekwe, Wood, Adendorff.

Reserves: Haywood, van Wyk, Franks, Coles, Harrison, Taylor, Francis, Proctor.


European Rugby Champions Cup Points Table