Match Centre: Toulouse 21-9 Bordeaux Begles

Romain Ntamack kicked 11 points for Toulouse
Romain Ntamack kicked 11 points for Toulouse
©Steve Haag

Toulouse 21-9 Bordeaux Begles, Stade Ernest Wallon

Toulouse have progressed to the final of the Heineken Champions Cup for the first time since 2010 as they defeated Bordeaux Begles 21-9 in the semi-final at Stade Ernest Wallon.

Toulouse will now face the winner of the encounter between La Rochelle and Leinster in the final at Twickenham Stadium on 22nd May.

Bordeaux started the proceedings with a third minute penalty goal from Matthieu Jalibert after Toulouse were penalised at breakdown. The home side responded back immediately in the fifth minute when Romain Ntamack launched a wide ball to Maxime Medard, who offloaded to Matthis Lebel for the opening try. Ntamack though missed out on the conversion.

Jalibert with his second penalty kick in the 21st minute to double Bordeaux's tally but in the 25th minute for a deliberate knock-on. Despite the setback the visitors managed to survive the next 10 minutes without conceding a point before Ntamack finally opened his account with a three-pointer at the stroke of half-time to end the opening half with a 8-6 scoreline.

The French international fly-half extended Toulouse's lead further with another penalty goal early in the second half making it 12-6 before he added another three-pointer in the 64th minute following a high tackle from Alexandre Roumat on Antoni Dupont to extend the lead to nine points.

Bordeaux were still in the hunt as Jalibert with his 69th minute penalty goal making it 15-9 but the decisive moment came in the 71st minute with Dupont grabbing an offload from Medard dotted down and Ntamack improved to keep them in contention to win the title for the fifth time after previously emerging victorious in 1996, 2003, 2005, 2010.

Team line up:

Toulouse: Medard; Kolbe, Holmes, Ahki, Lebel; Ntamack, Dupont; Baille, Marchand, Faumuina, Rory Arnold, Richie Arnold, Placines, Cros, Kaino.

Reserves: Mauvaka, Castets, Aldegheri, Tekori, Elstadt, Miquel, Germain, Mallia.

Bordeaux-Begles: Ducuing; Buros, Uberti, Moefana, Lam; Jalibert, Lucu; Paiva, Lamothe, Cobilas, Douglas, Marais, Woki, Petti, Roumat.

Reserves: Dweba, Poirot, Tameifuna, Cazeaux, Higginbotham, Lesgourgues, Seuteni, Jolmes.


European Rugby Champions Cup Points Table