Match Centre: Crusaders 29-6 Blues

Sevu Reece was one of the try-scorer for Crusaders
Sevu Reece was one of the try-scorer for Crusaders
©Steve Haag

Crusaders 29-6 Blues, Orangetheory Stadium

Will Jordan scored two tries as Crusaders defeated Blues 29-6 in the latest round of Super Rugby Aotearoa at Orangetheory Stadium on Monday.

This was sixth win for Crusaders as they consolidated the top position in the table with 28 points while Blues are at third with 15 points.

Crusaders got off to a promising start when Jordan went on to beat a couple of defenders to go over and Richie Mo'unga followed with the conversion to make it 7-0. The home side thought they would have stretched their lead further but Codie Taylor had a knock on after it looked a certain try.

Nevertheless, the home side eventually stretched their lead to 12 points as Sevu Reece scored in the corner but Mo'unga's conversion went wide. Just before the break, Mo'unga missed a penalty goal after Mark Telea was penalised as the teams finished the opening half with a 12-0 scoreline.

The start of the second half saw Otere Black and Mo'unga trade penalties before the Blues' replacement kicked another three-pointer to make it 15-6. As the third quarter was about to end, Mo'unga kicked one to the corner and from the resulting driving maul Taylor dotted down and the All Blacks fly-half kicked the extras making it 22-6.

Any hope for a Blues comeback was put off as Jordan went past Finlay Christie to score his second in the 72nd minute and Mo'unga successfully converted as Crusaders returned back to winnings with a 29-6 victory.

Team line up:

Crusaders: 15 Will Jordan, 14 Sevu Reece, 13 Leicester Fainga’anuku, 12 David Havili, 11 George Bridge, 10 Richie Mo’unga, 9 Mitchell Drummond, 8 Cullen Grace, 7 Sione Havili Talitui, 6 Ethan Blackadder, 5 Samuel Whitelock, 4 Scott Barrett, 3 Michael Alaalatoa, 2 Codie Taylor, 1 George Bower.

Reserves: 16 Brodie McAlister, 17 Tamaiti Williams, 18 Oliver Jager, 19 Mitchell Dunshea, 20 Tom Sanders, 21 Bryn Hall, 22 Dallas McLeod, 23 Manasa Mataele.

Blues: 15 Stephen Perofeta, 14 Mark Telea, 13 Rieko Ioane, 12 Tanielu Tele’a, 11 Caleb Clarke, 10 Harry Plummer, 9 Jonathan Ruru; 8 Hoskins Sotutu, 7 Dalton Papalii, 6 Blake Gibson, 5 Sam Darry, 4 Gerard Cowley-Tuioti, 3 Nepo Laulala, 2 Kurt Eklund, 1 Karl Tu’inukuafe.

Reserves: 16 Soane Vikena, 17 Marcel Renata, 18 Ofa Tuungafasi, 19 Taine Plumtree, 20 Akira Ioane, 21 Finlay Christie, 22 Otere Black, 23 AJ Lam.

Super Rugby Points Table