Match Centre: Chiefs 26-24 Hurricanes

Chiefs registered their fifth consecutive win
Chiefs registered their fifth consecutive win

Chiefs 26-24 Hurricanes, FMG Stadium Waikato

Damian McKenzie kicked the decisive penalty goal in the added minutes as Chiefs edged out Hurricanes 26-24 in the latest round of the Super Rugby Aotearoa at FMG Stadium Waikato.

This is fifth consecutive win for Chiefs as they climb to the second place in the table while Hurricanes are languishing at the bottom after losing six matches.

Hurricanes made a terrific start to the game with Tyrell Lomas sending a short pass to James Blackwell as he dotted down in the second minute and Jordie Barrett kicked the conversion making it 0-7.

The response from Chiefs came with a penalty kick from Damian McKenzie in the 16th minute and they seized the lead around the half-hour mark with Pita-Gus Sowakula dotted down following a scrum and the fullback improved making it 10-7. As the break was approaching, the scores were levelled 10-10 with Jordie Barrett slotting a penalty goal from a 55m range.

Chiefs got the lead early in the second half after Hurricanes were penalised at ruck and Jordie Barrett kicked the penalty goal in the 45th minute and three minutes later Bryn Gatland crossed the whitewash at the back of a line out. The visitors fought back almost immediately with Billy Proctor darting over the line untouched and Jordie kicked the extras making it 20-17.

Mckenzie with a three-pointer in the 60th minute extended Chiefs' lead to six points but with Asafo Aumua touching down in the 68th minute and Barrett's conversion made it 23-24 and with two minutes into the added minutes Hurricanes conceded a scrum penalty with McKenzie ensuring Chiefs capitalised on it with his fourth kick to seal a two-point victory.

Team line up:

Chiefs: 15 Damian McKenzie, 14 Jonah Lowe, 13 Anton Lienert-Brown, 12 Alex Nankivell, 11 Etene Nanai-Seturo, 10 Bryn Gatland, 9 Brad Weber, 8 Pita Gus Sowakula, 7 Lachlan Boshier, 6 Mitchell Brown, 5 Naitoa Ah Kuoi, 4 Tupou Vaa'i, 3 Angus Ta'avao, 2 Samisoni Taukei'aho, 1 Aidan Ross.

Reserves: 16 Nathan Harris, 17 Oliver Norris, 18 Sione Mafileo, 19 Samipeni Finau, 20 Kaylum Boshier, 21 Te Toiroa Tahuriorangi, 22 Rameka Poihipi, 23 Chase Tiatia.

Hurricanes: 15 Jordie Barrett, 14 Wes Goosen, 13 Peter Umaga-Jensen, 12 Ngani Laumape, 11 Salesi Rayasi, 10 Ruben Love, 9 Luke Campbell, 8 Devan Flanders, 7 Du'Plessis Kirifi, 6 Reed Prinsep, 5 Scott Scrafton, 4 James Blackwell, 3 Tyrel Lomax, 2 Dane Coles, 1 Xavier Numia.

Reserves: 16 Asafo Aumua, 17 Pouri Rakete-Stones, 18 Alex Fidow, 19 Isaia Walker-Leawere, 20 Vaea Fifita, 21 Brayden Iose, 22 Cam Roigard, 23 Billy Proctor.

Super Rugby Points Table