Match Centre: Brumbies 12-10 Hurricanes

Folau Fainga'a was part of the winning Brumbies side
Folau Fainga'a was part of the winning Brumbies side
©Steve Haag

Brumbies 12-10 Hurricanes, GIO Stadium

Brumbies registered their first victory in the ongoing Super Rugby Trans Tasman campaign as they edged out Hurricanes 12-10 in the fourth round at GIO Stadium on Saturday.

This is also the second win for an Australian side over their New Zealand counterparts in 19 games as Brumbies moved to the sixth place with five points while Hurricanes are at fourth.

Brumbies were the first to open their account as Ryan Lonergan dived from close range and Noah Lolesio kicked the conversion. The scores were levelled by the 17th minute when Dane Coles went past Lonegan and Lolesio following a line out to score and Jordie Barrett followed with the extras.

Hurricanes were down to 14 players temporarily when Du'Plessis Kirifi was sin-binned for a high tackle but the Brumbies could not quite take advantage of the additional player. With the break approaching, Barrett kicked a penalty goal to provide the visitors a slender three-point lead. However, the fullback missed a three-pointer early in the second half.

Hurricanes tried to put Brumbies under pressure but the Australian side managed to hold on to ensure the gap remained at three points. The decisive moment came in the 52nd minute when Len Ikitau took Nic White's inside pass to dot down but Lolesio missed out on the conversion which meant the scoreline became 12-10.

The visitors had a chance to hand Brumbies a heartbreak as they won a kickable penalty with three minutes left in the game but Barrett's shot went wide. As the game entered the final minute, Canes won another penalty which again Barrett could not get it right as Brumbies escaped with a two-point victory.

Team line up:

Brumbies: 15 Tom Banks, 14 Solomone Kata, 13 Len Ikitau, 12 Bayley Kuenzle, 11 Mack Hansen, 10 Noah Lolesio, 9 Ryan Lonergan, 8 Henry Stowers, 7 Luke Reimer, 6 Rob Valetini, 5 Nick Frost, 4 Darcy Swain, 3 Allan Alaalatoa, 2 Lachlan Lonergan, 1 Scott Sio.

Reserves: 16 Folau Fainga’a, 17 Harry Lloyd, 18 Sefo Kautai, 19 Tom Hooper, 20 Tom Cusack, 21 Nic White, 22 Irae Simone 23 Tom Wright

Hurricanes: 15 Jordie Barrett, 14 Julian Savea, 13 Billy Proctor, 12 Ngani Laumape, 11 Salesi Rayasi, 10 Ruben Love, 9 Luke Campbell, 8 Ardie Savea, 7 Du’Plessis Kirifi, 6 Devan Flanders, 5 Scott Scrafton, 4 James Blackwell, 3 Tyrel Lomax, 2 Dane Coles, 1 Xavier Numia.

Reserves: 16 Ricky Riccitelli, 17 Pouri Rakete-Stones, 18 Alex Fidow, 19 Isaia Walker-Leawere, 20 Brayden Iose, 21 Gareth Evans, 22 Cam Roigard, 23 Wes Goosen.