Match Centre: Australia 30-17 South Africa

Australia head coach Dave Rennie
Australia head coach Dave Rennie

Australia 30-17 South Africa, Suncorp Stadium

Len Ikitau and Marika Koroibete scored doubles as Australia went on to complete a 30-17 bonus point victory over South Africa in the fourth round of the Rugby Championship at Suncorp Stadium on Saturday.

This is the second win for the Wallabies as they consolidated their third place taking their tally to nine points while South Africa continue to remain at second with 10 points.

The Boks started the game in a worse possible manner as they lost Faf de Klerk to yellow card for slapping the ball out of Nic White's hands at a ruck and the home side straightaway made use of the numerical advantage as Ikitau went past a couple of defenders to score his first Test try in the 14th minute.

Even though South Africa responded back with a penalty kick from Handre Pollard in the 18th minute following an infringement from Matt Philip, Ikitau helped Australia increase their lead with his second in the 21st minute and Quade Cooper kicked the conversion this time making it 12-3.

As Cooper and Pollard traded penalties, the gap between the teams remained at nine points before the South African fly-half slotted another three-pointer after Andrew Kellaway was penalised making the scoreline 15-9.

The 32nd minute saw Australia were down by one player temporarily with Lachlan Swinton sin-binned for a no-arms challenge on Duane Vermeulen an Pollard responded with a three-pointer to end the opening half with a 15-12 scoreline.

The Boks made a flying start to the second half with De Klerk sending a grubber kick to Lukhanyo Am to touchdown to take them to a two-point lead but Pollard missed out on the conversion.

The momentum once again shifted towards the Wallabies as Cooper's penalty kick in the 50th minute that made the scoreline 18-17 but from there on it was Dave Rennie's side who dominated the proceedings as an offload from Sbu Nkosi allowed Koroibete to dot down in the 62nd minute and six minutes later he scored his second as they completed a 30-17 victory.

Team line up:

Australia: 15 Tom Banks, 14 Andrew Kellaway, 13 Len Ikitau, 12 Samu Kerevi, 11 Marika Koroibete, 10 Quade Cooper, 9 Nic White, 8 Rob Valetini, 7 Michael Hooper (captain), 6 Lachlan Swinton, 5 Matt Philip, 4 Izack Rodda, 3 Taniela Tupou, 2 Folau Fainga'a, 1 James Slipper.

Reserves: 16 Feleti Kaitu'u, 17 Angus Bell, 18 Tom Robertson, 19 Darcy Swain, 20 Pete Samu, 21 Tate McDermott, 22 Reece Hodge, 23 Jordan Petaia.

South Africa: 15 Willie le Roux, 14 Sibusiso Nkosi, 13 Lukhanyo Am, 12 Damian de Allende, 11 Makazole Mapimpi, 10 Handre Pollard, 9 Francois de Klerk, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Francois Mostert, 6 Siyamthanda Kolisi (captain), 5 Marvin Orie, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Frans Malherbe, 2 Mbongeni Mbonambi, 1 Trevor Nyakane.

Reserves: 16 Malcolm Marx, 17 Steven Kitshoff, 18 Vincent Koch, 19 Marco van Staden, 20 Albertus Smith, 21 Jasper Wiese, 22 Herschel Jantjies, 23 Damian Willemse.