Josh Navidi to lead Wales against Ireland

Josh Navidi has played 17 Tests
Josh Navidi has played 17 Tests

Wales head coach Warren Gatland has named Cardiff Blues flanker Josh Navidi as the skipper for the upcoming World Cup warm-up game against Ireland to be played at Millennium Stadium on 31st August.

This will be the first time Navidi will be captaining the side as Gatland has made 14 changes from the side that defeated Wales at the same venue last weekend.

Hallam Amos starts at fullback with Owen Lane and Steff Evans at wings. Owen Watkin and Scott Williams form the centre partnership while Jarrod Evans has been the designated fly-half with Aled Davies at scrum-half.

Navidi will be part of the back-row that also has James Davies and Aaron Shingler with Bradley Davies and Adam Beard at second row. Ryan Elias replaces Ken Owens at hooker while Rhys Carre and Samson Lee are props.

“It is a great opportunity for Rhys and Owen, they have worked hard all summer to get to this point so it will be good for them to get their first international caps and put their hands up for RWC selection after the match,” said Gatland.

“For Josh, it’s a huge honour to be named captain, he has been hugely consistent for us, he has really impressed in the last couple of seasons and he will lead from the front of Saturday and it is a great compliment for him to be awarded the captaincy.

“Saturday is a really big game for the players and I’m really excited about the challenge for this Welsh team. There is so much at stake in terms of RWC selection with a number of positions still up for grabs it will be huge game.”

Wales starting line-up: 15 Hallam Amos, 14 Owen Lane, 13 Scott Williams, 12 Owen Watkin, 11 Steff Evans, 10 Jarrod Evans, 9 Aled Davies, 8 Josh Navidi (c), 7 James Davies, 6 Aaron Shingler, 5 Bradley Davies, 4 Adam Beard, 3 Samson Lee, 2 Ryan Elias, 1 Rhys Carre

Replacements: 16 Elliot Dee, 17 Rob Evans, 18 Leon Brown, 19 Jake Ball, 20 Ross Moriarty, 21 Tomos Williams, 22 Rhys Patchell, 23 Jonah Holmes

Wales Fixtures


Wales Results