Jamie Roberts to lead Wales in Pacific summer tour

Jamie Roberts will lead Wales
Jamie Roberts will lead Wales

Wales have announced a 32-man squad that will be led by Jamie Roberts for the upcoming Pacific summer tour.

The decision comes after regular skipper Alun Wyn Jones along with former captain Sam Warburton will be busy with their British and Irish Lions commitments in the upcoming tour of New Zealand.

Harlequins centre Roberts has already featured in 91 Tests for Wales and an additional three for the Lions after making his debut in February 2008.

The squad also contains as many as 13 uncapped players - Adam Beard, Seb Davies, Ryan Elias, Ollie Griffiths, Wyn Jones, Rory Thornton, Thomas Young, Aled Davies, Steff Evans, Keelan Giles, Owen Williams, Rhun Williams and Tomos Williams - as they bid to make their first international appearance.

Roberts is looking forward to the opportunity of leading some young and excited talents.

"I'm immensely honoured to be named captain of Wales for this year's summer tour.

"It's a proud moment for myself, but more importantly my family and a position of responsibility that I will take huge pride in.

"I'm excited for the new players in the squad as they get the chance to test themselves at this level, and also for the more established players who now have a chance to become leaders in this team."

Robin McBryde, who will be in charge of the squad in the absence of Warren Gatland and Rob Howley believes the squad has a good blend of youth and experience.

"We've got a good mix of experience and youth in this squad.

"The senior players will be expected to display their leadership qualities, and we want the younger men to show they've got what it takes to handle the intense international environment."

Wales will take on Tonga on 16th June and then will lock horns with Samoa a week later in their summer tour.

Wales squad:

Forwards: Scott Baldwin (Ospreys), Jake Ball (Scarlets), Adam Beard (Ospreys), Kristian Dacey (Cardiff Blues), Seb Davies (Cardiff Blues), Ryan Elias (Scarlets), Rob Evans (Scarlets), Tomas Francis (Exeter Chiefs), Ollie Griffiths (Newport Gwent Dragons), Cory Hill (Newport Gwent Dragons), Ellis Jenkins (Cardiff Blues), Wyn Jones (Scarlets), James King (Ospreys), Samson Lee (Scarlets), Josh Navidi (Cardiff Blues), Nicky Smith (Ospreys), Rory Thornton (Ospreys), Thomas Young (Wasps).

Backs: Cory Allen (Cardiff Blues), Gareth Anscombe (Cardiff Blues), Alex Cuthbert (Cardiff Blues), Aled Davies (Scarlets), Gareth Davies (Scarlets), Sam Davies (Ospreys), Steff Evans (Scarlets), Keelan Giles (Ospreys), Tyler Morgan (Newport Gwent Dragons), Jamie Roberts (captain, Harlequins), Owen Williams (Leicester Tigers), Rhun Williams (Cardiff Blues), Scott Williams (Scarlets), Tomos Williams (Cardiff Blues).