Ireland make two changes for Scotland game

Peter O’Mahony is set to win his 100th Test cap for Ireland
Peter O’Mahony is set to win his 100th Test cap for Ireland

Ireland head coach Andy Farrell has made two changes to the side for the crucial Pool B encounter against Scotland to be played on Saturday.

Iain Henderson comes into the second row replacing James Ryan as he joins Tadhg Beirne while Dan Sheenan dons the number two jersey at the expense of Ronan Kelleher.

Both Ryan and Kelleher are part of the bench that also has Ulster's Stuart McCloskey, who is set to make his first appearance in the tournament with Robbie Henshaw sidelined with a hamstring injury that he picked in training.

Jack Conan is also set to make his first appearance in the World Cup after recovering from a foot ligament tear but the spotlight will be on Peter O'Mahony as he is set to make his 100th appearance for his country.

"It is a massive game and so important to us, to them and the travelling fans and those back home," said Farrell.

"It is a huge game. We have Iain Henderson in our group. He is good at maths so he is across everything as far as that is concerned.

"The easiest way is to make sure we perform well and make sure we win the game outright."

Ireland currently are at second position in the table with 14 points from three games and can top the table if they avoid defeat or lose by seven points or fewer against Scotland.

Ireland: 15 Hugo Keenan, 14 Mack Hansen, 13 Garry Ringrose, 12 Bundee Aki, 11 James Lowe, 10 Johnny Sexton (c), 9 Jamison Gibson-Park, 8 Caelan Doris, 7 Josh van der Flier, 6 Peter O’Mahony, 5 Iain Henderson, 4 Tadhg Beirne, 3 Tadhg Furlong, 2 Dan Sheehan, 1 Andrew Porter

Reserves: 16 Ronan Kelleher, 17 David Kilcoyne, 18 Finlay Bealham, 19 James Ryan, 20 Jack Conan, 21 Conor Murray, 22 Jack Crowley, 23 Stuart Mccloskey

Scotland: 15 Blair Kinghorn, 14 Darcy Graham, 13 Huw Jones, 12 Sione Tuipulotu, 11 Duhan van der Merwe, 10 Finn Russell, 9 Ali Price, 8 Jack Dempsey, 7 Rory Darge, 6 Jamie Ritchie (c), 5 Grant Gilchrist, 4 Richie Gray, 3 Zander Fagerson, 2 George Turner, 1 Pierre Schoeman

Reserves: 16 Ewan Ashman,17 Rory Sutherland, 18 WP Nel, 19 Scott Cummings, 20 Matt Fagerson, 21 Luke Crosbie, 22 George Horne, 23 Ollie Smith


Ireland Fixtures