Ireland include uncapped duo Mike Haley and Jean Kleyn in 44-man training squad

Mike Haley in action for Red Panda 7s
Mike Haley in action for Red Panda 7s
©Talking Rugby Union

Uncapped Munster duo Mike Haley and Jean Kleyn have been picked as a part of the 44-man training squad of Ireland ahead of the Rugby World Cup scheduled in Japan later this year.

Fullback Haley made his professional rugby debut with Sale Sharks and represented England Saxons during the 2016 tour of South Africa and also the England XV side for the game against Barbarians in 2017. The 24-year-old joined Munster in 2018 and qualifies to play for Ireland through his grandmother.

Meanwhile, Kleyn joined Munster in 2016 from Super Rugby club Stormers and was nominated for the 2018 Munster Rugby Player of the Year award.

“The provinces have done a great job throughout the season with all four of them being involved in two sets of play-offs,” said Ireland head coach Joe Schmidt.

“There were some very close calls in selection and it’s always a challenging process because the coaching group are very conscious of how hard the players work.

"It’s ideal that they get a good opportunity to relax for a few weeks before getting stuck into pre-season training and the busy ‘Guinness Series’ in the lead up to the World Cup.

“Some players have missed out through injury and there are one or two guys that may be added into the squad at a later stage.”

Ireland will play four warm-up games ahead of their World Cup campaign with games against Italy and England followed by home and away matches against Wales.

Ireland training squad for World Cup:

Forwards: Finlay Bealham, Rory Best, Tadhg Beirne, Jack Conan, Sean Cronin, Ultan Dillane, Tadhg Furlong, Cian Healy, Iain Henderson, Rob Herring, Dave Kilcoyne, Jean Kleyn, Jack McGrath, Jordi Murphy, Tommy O’Donnell, Peter O’Mahony, Andrew Porter, Rhys Ruddock, James Ryan, John Ryan, Niall Scannell, CJ Stander, Devin Toner, Josh van der Flier

Backs: Bundee Aki, Ross Byrne, Joey Carbery, Jack Carty, Andrew Conway, John Cooney, Keith Earls, Chris Farrell, Mike Haley, Robbie Henshaw, Dave Kearney, Rob Kearney, Jordan Larmour, Kieran Marmion, Luke McGrath, Conor Murray, Garry Ringrose, Rory Scannell, Jonathan Sexton, Jacob Stockdale


Ireland Fixtures


Ireland Results