Ireland include 11 uncapped players for summer series

Johnny Sexton has been rested for the summer series
Johnny Sexton has been rested for the summer series

Ireland head coach Andy Farrell has included 11 uncapped players in the 37-man squad for the upcoming summer series clash against the USA and Japan.

Munster duo Gavin Coombes and Fineen Wycherley, Ulster's Robert Baloucoune, Tom O'Toole and Nick Timoney along with Connacht's Caolin Blade, Tom Daly and Paul Boyle and Leinster trio Harry Byrne, Peter Dooley and Ross Molony, will be hoping to win their first cap for Ireland.

James Ryan will lead Ireland in the absence of Johnny Sexton, who has been rested along with Cian Healy and Keith Earls while Joey Carbery makes a comeback for the first time since the World Cup in 2019. Back-row Caelan Doris also makes a comeback after he last played during the Autumn Nations Cup in 2020.

“We now have two games at home to focus on which will be a good challenge for the group. Japan played the Sunwolves at the weekend and will play the Lions the week before we play at the Aviva Stadium and we know the quality of their squad from the World Cup," said Farrell.

“We will assemble as a squad on the 22nd of June and begin our preparations for the two games.

“I know the players will come in eager to make the most of this opportunity to pull on the green jersey and play in front of supporters at the Aviva Stadium for the first time in 18 months.

“Johnny (Sexton), Cian (Healy) and Keith (Earls) will not be involved in this window as we grow the experience of other players. It will be a great opportunity to see can this group perform at this level.”

Ireland will face Japan in the opening game of the series on 3rd July with the clash against the USA scheduled on 10th July. Both the games will be played at Aviva Stadium which will see limited spectators in attendance for the first time since the Six Nations game in February last year.

Ireland squad:

Backs: Will Addison, Robert Baloucoune, Caolin Blade, Billy Burns, Harry Byrne, Joey Carbery, Craig Casey, Andrew Conway, Shane Daly, Tom Daly, Chris Farrell, Jamison Gibson-Park, Hugo Keenan, Jordan Larmour, Stuart McCloskey, Garry Ringrose, Jacob Stockdale.

Forwards: Ryan Baird, Finlay Bealham, Paul Boyle, Ed Byrne, Gavin Coombes, Ultan Dillane, Peter Dooley, Caelan Doris, Dave Heffernan, Rob Herring, Ronan Kelleher, Dave Kilcoyne, Ross Molony, Peter O'Mahony, Tom O'Toole, James Ryan (capt), John Ryan, Nick Timoney, Josh van der Flier, Fineen Wycherley.


Ireland Fixtures