Fiji claim Hong Kong Sevens for fourth consecutive time

Fiji are the winners of Hong Kong Sevens
Fiji are the winners of Hong Kong Sevens
©World Rugby

Fiji 7s 24-12 Kenya 7s, Hong Kong Stadium

Fiji have gone on to claim the Hong Kong Sevens title for the fourth consecutive time after they defeated Kenya 24-12 in the final of the seventh round of the Men's World Rugby Sevens Series at Hong Kong Stadium.

Kenya suffered a serious setback in the first half with sin-bins to Collins Injera and Willy Ambaka allowed Fiji to claim a 17-0 lead at the end of the first half. Even though Kenya tried to stage a comeback with tries from Billy Odhiambo and Oscar Ouma in the second half, Fiji were instrumental and held on to their lead to complete a 12-point victory.

"I'd like to thank my boys for the team effort and thank the Kenyan team for a good game," said Fiji captain Jerry Tuwai.

"Hong Kong is always special for us, we respect and honour the tradition that Fiji has with the Hong Kong Sevens."

This is Fiji's third title win of the ongoing edition's World Rugby Sevens Series after previously winning the Hamilton and Vancouver leg earlier and have taken their tally to 123 points - just three behind table-toppers South Africa. New Zealand, who lose the Bronze Medal contest to South Africa are at third place with 107 points.

Meanwhile, France went on to win the Challenge Final after defeating Canada 33-7.