Exeter Chiefs name side for Premiership play-off game against Bath Rugby

Joe Cokanasiga is named on the wing for Exeter
Joe Cokanasiga is named on the wing for Exeter
©Steve Haag

Exeter Chiefs have confirmed the matchday squad for the Gallagher Premiership play-off against Bath Rugby to be played at Sandy Park on Saturday.

Jack Nowell misses out on the encounter with a foot injury and Olly Woodburn comes in his place at right wing with Tom O’Flaherty at left wing. Jacques Vermeulen also returns to back row which also has Sam Simmonds and Dave Ewers.

Skipper Joe Simmonds takes the kicking responsibility forming halfback partnership with Jack Maunder.

Exeter Chiefs starting line-up: 15 Stuart Hogg, 14 Olly Woodburn, 13 Henry Slade, 12 Ollie Devoto, 11 Tom O’Flaherty, 10 Joe Simmonds (c), 9 Jack Maunder, 8 Sam Simmonds, 7 Jacques Vermeulen, 6 Dave Ewers, 5 Jonny Hill, 4 Jonny Gray, 3 Harry Williams, 2 Luke Cowan-Dickie, 1 Alec Hepburn

Reserves: 16 Jack Yeandle, 17 Ben Moon, 18 Tomas Francis, 19 Sam Skinner, 20 Jannes Kirsten, 21 Sam Hidalgo-Clyne, 22 Gareth Steenson, 23 Ian Whitten

Bath Rugby have made three changes to the starting line-up from the game that saw them draw against Saracens in the final round.

Joe Cokanasiga makes his first start after recovery from a knee injury and will partner with Ruaridh McConnochie with Jonathan Joseph and Cameron Redpart forming centre partnership. Tom Ellis also returns in the line-up at backrow replacing Mike Williams.

Bath starting line-up: 15 Anthony Watson, 14 Ruaridh McConnochie, 13 Jonathan Joseph, 12 Cameron Redpath, 11 Joe Cokanasiga, 10 Rhys Priestland, 9 Ben Spencer, 8 Taulupe Faletau, 7 Sam Underhill, 6 Tom Ellis, 5 Charlie Ewels, 4 Josh McNally, 3 Will Stuart, 2 Tom Dunn, 1 Beno Obano

Reserves: 16 Jack Walker, 17 Lewis Boyce, 18 Christian Judge, 19 Elliott Stooke, 20 Miles Reid, 21 Will Chudley, 22 Josh Matavesi, 23 Tom de Glanville