Exeter Chiefs confirm departing players ahead of 2023/24 season

Exeter director of rugby Rob Baxter
Exeter director of rugby Rob Baxter

Exeter Chiefs have revealed that 23 players will be leaving the Premiership club at the end of the 2023/24 season.

Alec Hepburn and Ollie Devoto will be leaving the club along with Scotland international Jonny Gray. Centre Tom Hendrickson will be heading to Japan at the end of the season while Rory O’Loughlin, Matt Postlethwaite and Iestyn Harris are forced to retire due to injuries.

Georgian international Nika Abuladze will be joining Chiefs at end of the season and Aidon Davis will rejoin Cheetahs as he heads back to South Africa.

Matt Richardson and Patrick Schickerling will head to Glasgow Warriors while Danny Southworth and Oli Burrows both head to Wales to feature in the United Rugby Championship next season.

The other players departing are Corey Teague, Harry Hocking and James Kenn, who will move to RFU Championship next season with Frankie Nowell and Joe Snow moving to Australia. Arthur Relton, Toby Clinch, Jacob Morris, Jeremy Tuima, and Ben Grubb. complete the departing players list as Exeter look to build towards the new season.

Exeter Chiefs director of rugby Rob Baxter thanked the players for their contribution to the club.

“I’d like to thank all the players for being a part of the journey with our squad and for being in the Chiefs Family," said Baxter to the club's official website.

"They were all good teammates to have in our environment and we wish them all the very best in the future.”