Eight teams in hunt for Men's Rugby World Cup Sevens in San Francisco

The Men's competition of Rugby World Cup Sevens got underway on Friday in San Francisco with eight teams still in contention for the title.

The 24 team competition sees New Zealand, France, Fiji, Argentina, England, host USA, South Africa and Scotland reaching the quarter-final of the Championship and keep their hope of title win alive heading into the second day.

Kenya, Canada, France, Wales, Samoa, Russia, Japan and Ireland had a productive pre-round of 16 progressing to the main stage with wins over Tonga, Papua New Guinea, Jamaica, Zimbabwe, Uganda, Hong Kong, Uruguay and Chile respectively. The loser of the opening round will compete in the Bowl Quarter-finals.

Round of 16:

Game 1: Scotland 31-26 Kenya

The second round kick-started with Scotland surviving a scare from Kenya with the African side having a lead of 14-0 in the break but the Dark Blues showed great resilience in the second half with tries from Harvey Elms, Scott Riddell and a double from Jamie Farndale to complete a 31-26 victory.

Game 2: Argentina 28-0 Canada

Argentina exhibited sheer class against Canada to complete a 28-0 victory with tries from Santiago Mare (2' and 7'), Gaston Revol (9') and Mateo Carreras (14') wit Revol even kicking three conversions to complete a convincing victory.

Game 3: Australia 17-22 France:

Lachlan Anderson gave a head start to Australia with a third minute try Tavite Turaganibuli Veredamu responded back with a try of his own to level the scores. Ben O'Donnell with his eighth minute try took Australia into the lead once again but a try from Terry Bouhraoua and a conversion from Jean Pascal Barraque meant the teams headed into the break with a 10-12 lead. Even though Henry Hutchison provided Australia relief in the second half, Kevin Bly and a second from Veredamu ensured France completed a 17-22 victory.

Game 4: England 19 - 15 Samoa

England resisted a late charge from Samoa as they edged them out 19-15. Phil Burgess and Michael John Ellery scored first half tries for England but Samoa responded back with a try from Neria Fomai as the teams headed into the break with a 12-5 lead.

Belgium Tuatagaloa helped Samoa narrow down the gap with an early try in the second half but Richard de Carpentier's touchdown proved just enough for England as they managed to overcome a late try from Malu Falaniko to complete a 19-15 victory.

Game 5: New Zealand 29-5 Russia

Vladislav Lazarenko's try was the only point for Russia in the game while New Zealand dominated with tries from Joe Ravouvou (2' and 8'), Kurt Baker (4'), Andrew Scott Knewstubb (10') and Tim Mikkelson (11') to complete a comfortable 29-5 victory.

Game 6: Fiji 35 - 10 Japan

Kameli Raravou Soejima kick-started the proceedings for Japan with a third minute try but Semi Kunatani responded back with a try of his own before Jose Seru took Japan to a 7-10 lead at half-time. As Japan failed to score any point in the second half, further tries from Jerry Tuwai (8'), Josua Tuisova (12'), Semi Radradra (13') and Jasa Veremalua (14') ensured Fiji completed a 35-10 victory.

Game 7: South Africa 45-7 Ireland:

Siviwe Soyizwapi was the star with four tries for South Africa with Justin Geduld also scoring a double along with a touchdown from Werner Kok while Ireland struggled with Terry Kennedy's late try and Hugo Keenan's conversion being the only points as they succumbed to a 45-7 defeat.

Game 8: USA 35-0 Wales

Martin Losefo (4'), Perry Baker (8' and 10'), Danny Barrett (14') and Carlin Isles (15') all scored tries for USA with Madinson Hughes kicking five conversions as USA completed a 35-0 victory.

Championship Quarter-Finals line-up:

Scotland v South Africa
Argentina v Fiji
France v New Zealand
USA v England