Edwill van der Merwe and Jordan Hendrikse to make South Africa debut against Wales

South Africa head coach Rassie Erasmus
South Africa head coach Rassie Erasmus
©Steve Haag

South Africa coach Rassie Erasmus has named four uncapped players in the matchday squad for the upcoming clash against Wales to be played at Twickenham Stadium on Saturday.

Jordan Hendrikse is named at fly-half while Edwill van der Merwe starts at right wing for the Boks with fanker Ben-Jason Dixon and utility back Sacha Feinberg-Mngomezulu are the other debutants named on the bench.

Flanker Pieter-Steph du Toit will be captaining the side in the absence of Siya Kolisi, who will be unavailable along with other Europe bound players as the game falls outside the traditional international window. They will also be without players from Bulls, who will be playing in the final of the United Rugby Championship.

Vincent Koch is set to make his 50th appearance for the Boks while Malcom Marx makes a return after recovering from a knee injury that he sustained during the World Cup.

"Edwill, Jordan, Ben-Jason, and Sacha have really impressed us at training, and we believe they have what it takes to make their presence felt against a quality team such as Wales," Erasmus said.

"They will be surrounded by several experienced campaigners, some of whom are Rugby World Cup winners, so they will have enough guidance on the field to fulfil their roles even when the pressure is on."

South Africa XV: 15 Aphelele Fassi, 14 Edwill van der Merwe, 13 Jesse Kriel, 12 Andre Esterhuizen, 11 Makazole Mapimpi, 10 Jordan Hendrikse, 9 Faf de Klerk, 8 Evan Roos, 7 Pieter-Steph du Toit (c), 6 Kwagga Smith, 5 Franco Mostert, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Vincent Koch, 2 Malcolm Marx, 1 Ox Nche.

Reserves: 16 Bongi Mbonambi, 17 Ntuthuko Mchunu, 18 Frans Malherbe, 19 Salmaan Moerat, 20 Ben-Jason Dixon, 21 Grant Williams, 22 Sacha Feinberg-Mngomezulu, 23 Damian de Allende.