Dane Coles, Scott Barrett in New Zealand's line-up for clash against Australia

Scott Barrett returns to the New Zealand line-up
Scott Barrett returns to the New Zealand line-up
©Steve Haag

New Zealand have drafted in Scott Barrett and Dane Coles in the line-up for the final round of the Rugby Championship against Australia in Perth.

The Saturday's encounter which will also be the opening game of the Bledisloe Cup sees Scott Barrett making a comeback from injury at lock for injured Brodie Retallick and Ardie Savea has been moved to blindside flanker.

Beauden Barrett will continue to remain at fullback with Richie Mo'unga being the designated fly-half while Anton Lienert-Brown will start at inside centre in the place of Sonny Bill Williams. In the backs, Aaron Smith starts at halfback pushing TJ Perenara to the bench.

There is also a return for Sam Cane at openside flanker with Matt Todd joining the reserves.

“Our preparation this week here in Perth has been very good. We can tell that it’s ‘Bledisloe One’ week as there’s a real sense of purpose in everything we do, and a real desire to do it well," said Hansen.

“With the extra time together, we’re starting to see an improved clarity of roles out on the training park. We’ll need to take the confidence that comes with that clarity into the Test on Saturday and deliver a game which has high energy, high skill and great decision-making.

“The Bledisloe Cup has always been incredibly important to this team and teams before us. It’s those teams, ourselves, our country and our many fans that inspire and drive us to want to go out and ‘re-take’ the trophy.

“We’ve never felt that it’s about going out and ‘retaining’ the Cup because it’s always been about earning the right to have it. This Saturday is no different. Both teams will be desperate and hungry for success.”

New Zealand line-up: 15 Beauden Barrett, 14 Ben Smith, 13 Jack Goodhue, 12 Anton Lienert Brown, 11 Rieko Ioane, 10 Richie Mo'unga, 9 Aaron Smith; 1 Joe Moody, 2 Dane Coles, 3 Owen Franks, 4 Scott Barrett, 5 Sam Whitelock, 6 Ardie Savea, 7 Sam Cane, 8 Kieran Read (captain).

Replacements: 16 Codie Taylor, 17 Atu Moli, 18 Angus Ta'avao, 19 Patrick Tuipulotu, 20 Matt Todd, 21 TJ Perenara, 22 Ngani Laumape, 23 George Bridge.