Dane Coles returns for Hurricanes for clash against Chiefs

Dane Coles is among the changes in Chiefs' starting line-up
Dane Coles is among the changes in Chiefs' starting line-up

All Blacks hooker Dane Coles will make his first start this year after he was included in the starting line-up of Hurricanes for the upcoming Super Rugby game against Chiefs.

Coles will take up the co-captaincy along with TJ Perenara as Hurricanes look to bounce back from a 15-24 win defeat against Blues in the previous round.

Devan Flanders returns at blindside in the place of Vaea Fifita while Tyrel Lomax's suspension meant Ben May takes position at tighthead prop.

As Coles takes his number two position, Asafo Aumua drops to the bench while the final change sees Fraser Armstrong named at loosehead prop.

“Colesy wants to put his hand up and grab that role. We have got three awesome boys fighting for a chance to start, so they are all aware they need to take the chance when its given and play well,” said Hurricanes head coach Jason Holland.

We weren’t accurate enough to take opportunities and territory we were gaining in first 30 minutes against the Blues.

“We’re working hard at fixing that that this week, especially as this Chiefs side will be looking to capitalise on that.”

Hurricanes starting line-up: 15 Jordie Barrett, 14 Kobus van Wyk, 13 Vince Aso, 12 Ngani Laumape, 11 Ben Lam, 10 Fletcher Smith, 9 TJ Perenara (cc), 8 Gareth Evans, 7 Du’Plessis Kirifi, 6 Devan Flanders, 5 Isaia Walker-Leawere, 4 James Blackwell, 3 Ben May, 2 Dane Coles (cc), 1 Fraser Armstrong

Reserves: 16 Asafo Aumua, 17 Pouri Rakete-Stones, 18 Alex Fidow, 19 Scott Scrafton, 20 Vaea Fifita, 21 Jamie Booth, 22 Billy Proctor, 23 Wes Goosen

Super Rugby Points Table