Bristol Bears confirm squad with retained list

Bristol Bears director of rugby Pat Lam
Bristol Bears director of rugby Pat Lam
©Steve Haag

Bristol Bears have confirmed their updated squad with 19 players set to make exit from the Premiership club.

Will Hurrell, Aly Muldowney and Tom Lindsay will be retiring from the game along with Jordan Crane while Ryan Edwards departs after eight seasons with the Ashton Gate based club.

Ireland international Ian Madigan will rejoin Ulster while Joe Batley and Nic Stirzaker will join Worcester Warriors and French Pro D2 side Montauban respectively and Mat Protheroe and Nicky Thomas will be heading to Ospreys.

Lewis Thiede, Shaun Malton, Luke Daniels, Sam Graham and Ollie Dawe will be playing for the Championship in the next season. James and Jordan Lay along with Adrian Choat will head back to New Zealand.

Semi Radradra, Kyle Sinckler, Chris Cook will join the club from 1st July while Saracens loan duo Ben Earl and Max Malins will arrive in August and Siva Naulago in autumn.

“We had a very emotional online team farewell to honour all our leavers last Friday, but I would like to publicly thank all our departing players for contributing to our journey during their time at Bristol Bears," said director of rugby Pat Lam.

"Whether Foundation Bears or with us from last season, all these men have committed themselves to the club and our vision on and off the field – we are extremely grateful for that.

“I believe all those that are moving on leave the programme as better players and better people through the time and commitment they put into their own growth, as well as to the team and the development of this club. They’ve all played their part and we wish them the very best for the future.

“Although the pandemic means we had to recognise our leavers online compared to what we would do in a normal season, everybody will be welcomed back to celebrate the part they played for Bristol Bears at the conclusion of the 2019/20 season.”

Bristol squad:

Forwards: John Afoa, Jake Armstrong, Kyle Sinckler, Max Lahiff, Yann Thomas, Jake Woolmore, Andrew Turner, Will Capon, Harry Thacker, George Kloska, Dave Attwood, John Hawkins, Ed Holmes, Joe Joyce, Chris Vui, Ben Bamber, Alex Groves, James Dun, Mitch Eadie, Ben Earl, Jake Heenan, Nathan Hughes, Steven Luatua, Dan Thomas, Fitz Harding

Backs: Chris Cook, Harry Randall, Andy Uren, Blake Boyland, Tiff Eden, Callum Sheedy, Ioan Lloyd, Tom Wilstead, Sam Bedlow, Piers O’Conor, Siale Piutau, Charlie Powell, Semi Radradra, Harry Ascherl, Jack Bates, Toby Fricker, Alapati Leiua, Max Malins, Luke Morahan, Siva Naulago, Charles Piutau, Henry Purdy, Deago Bailey, Freddie Owsley

Players leaving the club: Bryan Byrne, Joe Batley, Adrian Choat, Jordan Crane (retiring), Luke Daniels, Ollie Dawe, Ryan Edwards, Sam Graham, Luke Hamilton, Will Hurrell (retiring), James Lay, Jordan Lay, Tom Lindsay (retiring), Ian Madigan, Shaun Malton, Aly Muldowney (retiring), Mat Protheroe, Nic Stirzaker, Lewis Thiede

Premiership Rugby - Points Table