Beauden, Jordie and Scott Barrett to feature for New Zealand against Canada

Scott Barrett will play his 33rd Test for New Zealand
Scott Barrett will play his 33rd Test for New Zealand
©Steve Haag

New Zealand head coach Steve Hansen has made 11 changes to the starting line-up for the upcoming World Cup game against Canada to be played in Oita on Wednesday.

Skipper Kieran Read, lock Scott Barrett along with flyhalf Richie Mo'unga and full-back Beauden Barrett are the only players to retain their places from All Blacks' opening game against South Africa which Hansen's men went on to win 23-13.

With Jordie Barrett returning to the right-wing, this will be the first time in the history of a World Cup game where a trio of brothers start in the same game.

Jack Goodhue and Sonny Bill Williams form centre partnership while Rieko Ioane joins Jordie at wing. The other changes see TJ Perenara starts at scrum-half with Angus Ta'avao, Liam Coltman and Atu Moli at front-row and Scott Barrett along with Patrick Tuipulotu in second row.

Matt Todd and Shannon Frizell have been the preferred flankers with skipper Read at number eight. Codie Taylor, Ofa Tuungafasi, Nepo Laulala, Sam Whitelock, Ardie Savea, Brad Weber, Ryan Crotty and Ben Smith have been named on the bench.

"We are looking forward to the contest with Canada," said Hansen.

"Our aim is to win the next two Pool matches against Canada and Namibia, as well as continuing to grow our game and manage the workload across the group.

"With two games four days apart, it's obvious that we need to use our whole squad.

"Whilst there's a huge amount of energy and excitement amongst the whole team about what lies ahead, this week there has been a real focus on ourselves and our own standards."

New Zealand starting line-up: 15 Beauden Barrett, 14 Jordie Barrett, 13 Jack Goodhue, 12 Sonny Bill Williams, 11 Rieko Ioane, 10 Richie Mo’unga, 9 TJ Perenara, 8 Kieran Read (c), 7 Matt Todd, 6 Shannon Frizell, 5 Scott Barrett, 4 Patrick Tuipulotu, 3 Angus Ta’avao, 2 Liam Coltman, 1 Atu Moli

Replacements: 16 Codie Taylor, 17 Ofa Tuungafasi, 18 Nepo Laulala, 19 Samuel Whitelock, 20 Ardie Savea, 21 Brad Weber, 22 Ryan Crotty, 23 Ben Smith

New Zealand Fixtures


New Zealand Results