Australia axe Tom Wright from squad ahead of Bledisloe Cup clash

Eddie Jones has confirmed a 34-man squad
Eddie Jones has confirmed a 34-man squad

Australia coach Eddie Jones has axed fullback Tom Wright from the 34-man squad announced ahead of the Bledisloe Cup clash against New Zealand.

Wright started in both the games of the competition against South Africa and Argentina in which the Wallabies went on to suffer defeats and are languishing at the bottom of the table.

Apart from Wright, Pete Samu and Reece Hodge are the other notable omissions in the squad along with Matt Gibbon, Zane Nonnggor and Josh Kemeny.

The decision to leave out Wright comes after Andrew Kellaway has recovered from a hamstring injury while Jordan Petaia has overcome a wrist injury to take the place of injured Len Ikitau.

After missing out on the game against the Pumas, co-captain Michael Hooper continues to be part of rehabilitation group but is expected to be fit for the encounter against the All Blacks in Melbourne on 29th July. The second Test has been scheduled in Dunedin a week later.

“We’re very disappointed with the results during stage one of our campaign,” Jones said in a statement.

“We need to find more in stage two and Melbourne will be ground where we will find our best.”

Australia squad:

Forwards: Allan Alaalatoa (Brumbies), Richie Arnold (Toulouse), Angus Bell (Waratahs), Pone Fa’amausili (Melbourne Rebels), Matt Faessler (Reds), Nick Frost (Brumbies), Langi Gleeson (Waratahs), Jed Holloway (Waratahs), Tom Hooper (Brumbies), Rob Leota (Melbourne Rebels), Fraser McReight (Reds), Matt Philip (Melbourne Rebels), David Porecki (Waratahs), Will Skelton (La Rochelle), Blake Schoupp (Brumbies), James Slipper ( Brumbies, cc), Taniela Tupou (Reds), Jordan Uelese (Melbourne Rebels), Rob Valetini (Brumbies)

Backs: Quade Cooper (Kintetsu Liners), Lalakai Foketi (Waratahs,), Carter Gordon (Melbourne Rebels), Andrew Kellaway (Melbourne Rebels), Samu Kerevi Urayasu D-Rocks), Marika Koroibete (Saitama Wild Knights), Ryan Lonergan (Brumbies), Tate McDermott (Reds), Mark Nawaqanitawase (Waratahs), Izaia Perese (Waratahs), Jordan Petaia (Reds), Suliasi Vunivalu (Reds), Nic White (Brumbie), Ben Donaldson (Waratahs), Dylan Pietsch (Waratahs)