Australia make five changes for Rugby Championship game against Argentina

Australia coach Eddie Jones
Australia coach Eddie Jones

Australia coach Eddie Jones has made five changes to the starting line up for the second round of the Rugby Championship clash against Argentina in Sydney.

Michael Hooper misses out on selection through injury with his place at openside taken by Fraser McReight. The back row also sees another change with Jed Holloway replacing Tom Hooper at blindside.

Richie Arnold is set to make his first Test start for the Wallabies and will join Will Skelton at second row while Allan Alaalatoa, David Porecki and James Slipper retain their position at front row.

While Quade Cooper retains his place at fly-half, Nic White will be partnering him at halfback while Mark Nawaqanitawase replaces Suliasi Vunivalu on the right wing. Jones has drafted Samu Kerevi at midfueld partnering with Len Ikitau while Tom Wright retains his place at fullback.

Jones has overhauled his finishers, bringing in props Angus Bell and Pone Fa'amausili while lock Matt Philip and the versatile Rob Leota have also been included among six reserve forwards.

“We’re running a marathon this year and we didn’t get off the start line like we wanted to, but we get another opportunity to find our rhythm this weekend against a tough Argentinian side,” said Jones.

“It’s about winning but there’s a couple of processes we’ve got. We’ve got the process of today, we’ve got the process of tomorrow. So that’s a continual balancing act but obviously Saturday’s the priority.”

Australia: 15 Tom Wright, 14 Mark Nawaqanitawase, 13 Len Ikitau, 12 Samu Kerevi, 11 Marika Koroibete, 10 Quade Cooper, 9 Nic White, 8 Rob Valetini, 7 Fraser McReight, 6 Jed Holloway, 5 Will Skelton, 4 Richie Arnold, 3 Allan Alaalatoa, 2 David Porecki, 1 James Slipper (c)

Reserves: 16 Jordan Uelese, 17 Angus Bell, 18 Pone Fa’amausili, 19 Matt Philip, 20 Rob Leota, 21 Josh Kemeny, 22 Tate McDermott, 23 Carter Gordon