Argentina name squad for Rugby Championship opener against New Zealand

Argentina head coach Mario Ledesma
Argentina head coach Mario Ledesma
©Steve Haag

Argentina head coach Mario Ledesma has named a 30-man squad for the Rugby Championship opening game against New Zealand to be played in Buenos Aires on 20th July.

The squad contains five European-bound players with Toulon's Facundo Isa getting a recall for the first time since 2016 and will look to add to his 25 Test caps. Exeter Chiefs wing Santiago Cordero also has earned a recall with Saracens' Juan Figallo and Stade Francais' Ramiro Herrera are also included.

Stade Francais fly-half Nicolas Sanchez is also part of the squad that also has a solitary uncapped member in Lucas Mensa with the rest of the members predominantly from Jaguares, who had a fabulous Super Rugby season where they reached the final.

Argentina 30-man squad:


Matías Alemanno, Agustín Creevy, Juan Figallo, Ramiro Herrera, Facundo Isa, Marcos Kremer, Tomás Lavanini, Juan Manuel Leguizamón, Tomás Lezana, Pablo Matera, Santiago Medrano, Julián Montoya, Javier Ortega Desio, Guido Petti, Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro, Mayco Vivas.


Emiliano Boffelli, Sebastián Cancelliere, Santiago Cordero, Tomás Cubelli, Jerónimo de la Fuente, Joaquín Díaz Bonilla, Felipe Ezcurra, Lucas Mensa, Manuel Montero, Matías Moroni, Ramiro Moyano, Matías Orlando, Nicolás Sánchez, Joaquín Tuculet.