Toulouse beat Leinster 31-22 to win Champions Cup

Thomas Ramos contributed with 14 points for Toulouse
Thomas Ramos contributed with 14 points for Toulouse
©Steve Haag

Toulouse 31-22 Leinster, Tottenham Hotspur Stadium

Thomas Ramos kicked 14 points including three penalties in the extra time as Toulouse defeated Leinster 31-22 at Tottenham Hotspur Stadium to win the Investec Champions Cup.

This also means Toulouse now have won their sixth Champions Cup - putting them two ahead of second placed Leinster, who have now lost three successive finals.

Toulouse took early lead with back to back penalties from Blair Kinghorn in the 4th and 7th minutes to make it 6-0 before Ross Byrne got Leinster off the mark with a 18th minute penalty goal.

Even though Leinster dominated in possession, it was the French club who completed the opening half with a 9-6 lead after Kinghorn and Byrne traded penalties.

Byrne helped Leinster level the scores with an early penalty goal in the second half before the fullback and fly-half traded penalties again making it 12-12 by the end of the 65th minute.

Replacement Ramos nudged Toulouse ahead with a 70th minute kick before Matthis Lebel looked threatening to score the first try in the left corner which he could not complete.

With three minutes left in the game, Frawley helped Leinster level the scores once again and went for the drop-goal to win the title but it drifted wide leading the encounter to the added minutes.

The extra time did not start well for Leinster as they lost James Lowe to a yellow card for an interception but Ramos missed a penalty chance. The opening try of the game eventually came in the 82nd minute when Lebel showed great pace capitalising on the numerical advantage to touchdown and Ramos followed with a conversion and a three-pointer to make it 15-25.

The 89th minute saw Toulouse's Richie Arnold red-carded for a dangerous tackle on Cian Healy allowing Leinster a lifeline with Josh van der Flier diving from close range and Frawley's conversion made it a three point game by the 97th minute. Nevertheless, Toulouse held their nerve with Ramos punishing the indiscipline from Leinster with further two penalty kicks helping them clinch the title for the sixth time.

Team line up:

Leinster: Keenan; Larmour, Henshaw, Osborne, Lowe; R Byrne, Gibson-Park; Porter, Sheehan, Furlong, McCarthy, Jenkins, Baird, Connors, Doris (capt).

Reserves: Kelleher, Healy, Ala'alatoa, Ryan, Conan, McGrath, Frawley, Van der Flier.

Toulouse: Kinghorn; Mallia, Costes, Ahki, Lebel; Ntamack, Dupont (capt); Baille, Mauvaka, Aldegheri, Flament, Meafou, Willis, Cros, Roumat.

Reserves: Marchand, Neti, Merkler, Arnold, Brennan, Graou, Chocobares, Ramos.


European Rugby Champions Cup Points Table