Tom Curry, Cheslin Kolbe named in World Rugby Player of the Year award nominations

Tom Curry (right) during the World Cup semi-final against New Zealand
Tom Curry (right) during the World Cup semi-final against New Zealand
©Steve Haag

World Rugby has announced the nominees for Men’s and Women’s 15s Player of the Year awards for 2019 that will be presented in Tokyo on Sunday.

Wales skipper Alun Wyn Jones, who recently went on to become the most-capped player for Wales and also led his side to the semi-finals is among the six nominations.

England's Tom Curry, who was adjudged the player of the match during England's quarter-final win over Australia also makes the cut at the age of 21 and is joined by South Africa's sensational winger Cheslin Kolbe, who has scored seven tries from 13 Tests since his debut and has another chance to impress in the World Cup final.

Kolbe will be joined his team-mate Pieter-Steph du Toit, who is also a key member in Rassie Erasmus' World Cup squad with New Zealand's Ardie Savea and USA's Joe Taufete’e also among the nominees for the prestigious award.

There were also five nominations in Women's 15s Player of the Year with Sarah Bern (England), Pauline Bourdon (France), Kendra Cocksedge (New Zealand), Katy Daley-Mclean (England) and Emily Scarratt (England) all making the cut.

Previous World Rugby Men’s 15s Player Of The Year Award Winners:

2018 – Johnny Sexton (Ireland)
2017 – Beauden Barrett (New Zealand)
2016 – Beauden Barrett (New Zealand)
2015 – Dan Carter (New Zealand)
2014 – Brodie Retallick (New Zealand)
2013 – Kieran Read (New Zealand)
2012 – Dan Carter (New Zealand)
2011 – Thierry Dusautoir (France)
2010 – Richie McCaw (New Zealand)
2009 – Richie McCaw (New Zealand)
2008 – Shane Williams (Wales)
2007 – Bryan Habana (South Africa)
2006 – Richie McCaw (New Zealand)
2005 – Dan Carter (New Zealand)
2004 – Schalk Burger (South Africa)
2003 – Jonny Wilkinson (England)
2002 – Fabien Galthié (France)
2001 – Keith Wood (Ireland)

Previous World Rugby Women’s 15s Player Of The Year Award Winners:

2018 – Jessy Trémoulière (France)
2017 – Portia Woodman (New Zealand)
2016 – Sarah Hunter (England)
2015 – Kendra Cocksedge (New Zealand)
2014 – Magali Harvey (Canada)
2012 – Michaela Staniford (England)
2011 – Ruth Mitchell
2010 – Carla Hohepa (New Zealand)
2009 – Debby Hodgkinson (Australia)
2008 – Carol Isherwood (England)
2007 – Sarah Corrigan (Australia)
2006 – Maggie Alphonsi (England)
2005 – Farah Palmer (New Zealand)
2004 – Donna Kennedy (Scotland)
2003 – Kathy Flores (USA)
2002 – Monique Hirovanaa (New Zealand)
2001 – Shelley Rae (England)


2019 Rugby World Cup Fixtures & Results


2019 Rugby World Cup Points Table