South Africa dominate World Rugby Men's 15s Dream Team of the Year

South Africa skipper Siya Kolisi
South Africa skipper Siya Kolisi

South Africa have dominated the World Rugby’s Men’s Team of the Year with five players featuring in the elite list.

The team was selected by a panel of legends, that included Maggie Alphonsi (Eng), Fiona Coghlan (Ire), Thierry Dusautoir (Fra), George Gregan (Aus), Richie McCaw (NZ), Brian O’Driscoll (Ire), Melodie Robinson (NZ) John Smit (SA), Clive Woodward (Eng).

Lukhanyo Am, Makazole Mapimpi, Malcolm Marx, Eben Etzebeth and Siya Kolisi all have been included with Will Jordan, who won the breakthrough player of the year award along with Beauden Barrett and Ardie Savea are from New Zealand.

Australia have two players in the XV with Samu Kerevi at midfield and skipper Michael Hooper being named at seven.

Stuart Hogg, who led Scotland to Six Nations away wins over England and France and a victory over Australia in the Autumn Nations Series has been named at fullback in the list that also has Ireland's Tadgh Furlong, France's Antoine Dupont and England's Maro Itoje.

World Rugby men's team of the year: 15. Stuart Hogg (Scotland); 14. Will Jordan (New Zealand), 13. Lukhanyo Am (South Africa), 12. Samu Kerevi (Australia), 11. Makazole Mapimpi (South Africa); 10. Beauden Barrett (New Zealand), 9. Antoine Dupont (France); 1. Wyn Jones (Wales) 2. Malcolm Marx (South Africa) 3. Tadhg Furlong (Ireland) 4. Maro Itoje (England) 5. Eben Etzebeth (South Africa) 6. Siya Kolisi (South Africa) 7. Michael Hooper (Australia) 8. Ardie Savea (New Zealand).

Meanwhile, France and England have taken the honours in the Women's Team of the Year with 11 players combined featuring in the XV. The announcement comes a day after England coach Simon Middleton was named the World Rugby Coach of the Year and in the process became the first coach of a women's side to take the honours.

World Rugby Women's team of the year: 15 Jasmine Joyce (Wales), 14 Caroline Boujard (France), 13 Stacey Fluhler (New Zealand), 12 Beatrice Rigoni (Italy), 11 Abby Dow (England), 10 Caroline Drouin (France), 9 Laure Sansus (France), 8 Poppy Cleall (England), 7 Karen Paquin (Canada), 6 Zoe Aldcroft (England), 5 Abbie Ward (England), 4 Safi N’Diaye (France), 3 Sarah Bern (England), 2 Agathe Sochat (France), 1 Annaëlle Deshayes (France)


2019 Rugby World Cup Points Table