South Africa change four for England clash

Eben Etzebeth starts at second row for South Africa
Eben Etzebeth starts at second row for South Africa

South Africa head coach Jacques Nienaber has made four changes to the starting line up for the upcoming clash against England to be played at Twickenham Stadium.

With the game falling outside the traditional international window, Vincent Koch, Trevor Nyakane, Jasper Wiese, Cobus Reinach, Cheslin Kolbe and Andre Esterhuizen are unavailable for the encounter.

Kurt-Lee Arendse moves from left to right wing to take the place of Kolbe with Makazole Mapimpi returning back to the line up. Damian de Allende starts at inside centre with Jesse Kriel joining him at midfield while Damian Willemse retains his fly-half position.

While the front row remains unchanged, Eben Etzebeth comes in at second row joining Marvin Orie while the back row sees Evan Roos starting at number eight replacing Jasper Wiese.

"With this Test falling outside the international Test window, we knew we would have to make changes to the team, but we are pleased with the depth we have built in the wider squad in the last few months, and it is paying off for us this week," head coach Jacques Nienaber said.

"Every player in this squad has played Test rugby, and most of them have received game time at this level thanks to our selection plan throughout the season and the games against Munster and Bristol.

"We are very excited to see what this group of players will do against a quality England side given the mix of talented young players who have been putting up their hands and the experienced guys who have come a long way with us over the last few years."

South Africa: 15 Willie le Roux, 14 Kurt-Lee Arendse, 13 Jesse Kriel, 12 Damian de Allende, 11 Makazole Mapimpi, 10 Damian Willemse, 9 Faf de Klerk; 1 Ox Nche, 2 Bongi Mbonambi, 3 Frans Malherbe, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 5 Marvin Orie, 6 Siya Kolisi (c), 7 Franco Mostert, 8 Evan Roos.

Reserves: 16 Malcolm Marx, 17 Steven Kitshoff, 18 Thomas du Toit, 19 Marco van Staden, 20 Kwagga Smith, 21 Jaden Hendrikse, 22 Manie Libbok, 23 Canan Moodie.