Saracens skipper Owen Farrell ruled out of Premiership game against Northampton

Owen Farrell is sidelined by a knee injury
Owen Farrell is sidelined by a knee injury

Saracens captain Owen Farrell will miss the upcoming eighth round Gallagher Premiership game against Northampton Saints due to a knee injury.

Farrell, who recently announced his decision to take a break from international rugby picked a minor knock during the win over Bristol and has been replaced at fly-half by Manu Vunipola.

Sean Maitalnd comes at right wing replacing Alex Lewington, who drops to the bench while Alex Goode and Tom Parton retain their places at fullback and left wing respectively.

While Nick Tompkins retains his place at inside centre, while Lucio Cinti takes the place of Elliot Daly at outside centre with the England international handed a rest. The other changes see Ivan van Zyl replacing Aled Davies at scrum half while Juan Martin Gonzalez comes in the back row.

Maro Itoje will be captaining the side in the second row that also has Theo McFarland while Tom West, Theo Dan and Alec Clarey are part of the front row.

Saracens: 15 Alex Goode, 14 Sean Maitland, 13 Lucio Cinti, 12 Nick Tompkins, 11 Tom Parton, 10 Manu Vunipola, 9 Ivan van Zyl, 8 Billy Vunipola, 7 Andy Christie, 6 Juan Martin Gonzalez, 5 Theo McFarland, 4 Maro Itoje (c), 3 Alec Clarey, 2 Theo Dan, 1 Tom West

Reserves: 16 Jamie George,17 Mako Vunipola, 18 Christian Judge,19 Hugh Tizard, 20 Toby Knight, 21 Aled Davies, 22 Olly Hartley, 23 Alex Lewington

Northampton Saints: 15 George Furbank (c), 14 Tom Seabrook, 13 Tommy Freeman, 12 Fraser Dingwall, 11 Ollie Sleightholme, 10 Fin Smith, 9 Tom James, 8 Sam Graham, 7 Tom Pearson, 6 Courtney Lawes, 5 Alex Coles, 4 Chunya Munga, 3 Trevor Davison, 2 Sam Matavesi, 1 Ethan Waller

Reserves: 16 Curtis Langdon, 17 Alex Waller, 18 Elliot Millar Mills, 19 Temo Mayanavanua, 20 Angus Scott-Young, 21 Alex Mitchell, 22 Tom Litchfield, 23 George Hendy