Sam Simmonds wins the European Player of the Year Award

Sam Simmonds was impressive for Exeter Chiefs
Sam Simmonds was impressive for Exeter Chiefs

Exeter Chiefs forward Sam Simmonds has been named the European Player of the Year following his impressive performances this season.

The England international was one the try-scorer in Exeter's 31-27 win over Racing 92 in the final that saw them clinch the Heineken Champions Cup title for the first time.

He also topped the list in most tries in the Champions Cup competition with eight touchdowns and is also third in the list for most carries with 103.

Simmonds has overcome competition from his club team-mate Stuart Hogg, Bristol's Semi Radradra and Racing 92 duo Finn Russell and Virimi Vakatawa and becomes the fourth English player in five years to receive the Anthony Foley Memorial Trophy as Europe’s finest player of the season after Maro Itoje (2016), Owen Farrell (2017) and Alex Goode (2019).

The previous winners list:

2019:?Alex Goode (Saracens)
2018:?Leone Nakarawa (Racing 92)
2017:?Owen Farrell (Saracens)
2015:?Nick?Abendanon?(ASM Clermont Auvergne)
2014:?Steffon?Armitage (RC Toulon)
2013:?Jonny Wilkinson (RC Toulon)
2012:?Rob Kearney (Leinster Rugby)
2011:?Sean O’Brien (Leinster Rugby)
2010:?Ronan O’Gara (Munster Rugby – best player of first 15 years of European club rugby)?


European Rugby Champions Cup Points Table