Pretoria and Johannesburg named venues for South Africa's Tests against Georgia

The games will be played in July
The games will be played in July
©Steve Haag

South Africa Rugby has announced the venues for the upcoming two-match Test series against Georgia to be played in July.

The Springboks have not played since their victorious 2019 World Cup campaign with their participation in the Rugby Championship and European tour last year disrupted due to the pandemic coronavirus.

However, they will now return to action with the opening Test against Georgia to be played on 2nd July at Loftus Versfeld in Pretoria.

The two teams will meet for the second and final time on 9th July with Emirates Airline Park in Johannesburg on 9th July.

Both South Africa and Georgia have faced each other just once previously that came during the 2003 World Cup in Sydney with the Springboks recording a 46-19 win.

Following the games against Georgia, South Africa will take on the British and Irish Lions in the three-match Test series that will be played on 24th July, 31st July and 7th August with FNB Stadium, Cape Town Stadium and Ellis Park Stadium being the venues.

Schedule for Test series between South Africa and Georgia

2nd July - First Test - Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria
10th July - Second Test - Emirates Airline Park, Johannesburg


South Africa Fixtures