Northampton Saints name unchanged side for Premiership final against Bath Rugby

Courtney Lawes will be captaining Northampton in the final at Twickenham Stadium
Courtney Lawes will be captaining Northampton in the final at Twickenham Stadium

Northampton Saints have named an unchanged line up for the upcoming Premiership final game against Bath to be played at Twickenham Stadium on Saturday.

Alex Waller, Curtis Langdon and Trevor Davison will continue at front row while Alex Moon and Alex Coles start at second row. Courtney Lawes will be captaining the side on what will be his final game for Northampton with Juarno Augustus and Tom Pearson forming the remainder of the back row.

Fin Smith and Alex Mitchell will start at fly-half and scrum half respectively with George Furbank starting at fullback.

“Throughout the season, we have had lots and lots of players contribute a lot. We have relied on the depth of the squad and there are a lot of players who are unlucky not to be involved and are frustrated about that,” said Northampton Director of Rugby Phil Dowson.

“But the one thing I will say about the group is that whoever is playing and whoever isn’t, those players who haven’t been involved who have had to swallow their ambition a little bit and put the team first, I think that is an outstanding Saints-first attitude. They have been brilliant, to a man.

“Clearly it is difficult to pick for big games like this, because these are the games that define people. It’s a big game that everyone wants to play in, so there is some disappointment and pressure around that, but we have gone with the team that we think best suits us to get a good performance."

Northampton: Furbank; Freeman, Odendaal, Dingwall, Sleightholme; Smith, Mitchell; Waller, Langdon, Davison, Moon, Coles, Lawes (c), Pearson, Augustus.

Reserves: Matavesi, Iyogun, Mills, Mayanavanua, Graham, Ludlam, James, Hendy.

Bath: Gallagher; Cokanasiga, Lawrence, Redpath, Muir; Russell, Spencer (c); Obano, Dunn, Du Toit, Roux, Ewels, Hill, Underhill, Barbeary.

Reserves: Annett, Schoeman, Stuart, Stooke, Bayliss, Schreuder, Bailey, Reid.