New Zealand name seven uncapped players in Rugby Championship squad

New Zealand head coach Ian Foster
New Zealand head coach Ian Foster

New Zealand head coach Ian Foster has named seven uncapped players in the 35-man squad for the Rugby Championship tournament.

Crusaders trio Quinten Strange, Cullen Grace and Will Jordan along with Blues' Alex Hodgman, Hoskins Sotutu and Caleb Clarke and Chiefs lock Tupou Vaa'i will all be part of the squad.

"We're hugely excited at the calibre of the players selected for this All Blacks squad of 2020," said Foster.

"It's been a great process working through the selections and I've really enjoyed working with 'Plums' (John Plumtree) as part of the new selectors group.

"Plums, Foxy and I have been as excited as everyone at the rugby we have seen in what has been an incredibly difficult year for everyone."

The squad has 20 forwards and 15 backs with the majority players from Crusaders, who won the Super Rugby Aotearoa with 11 players being part of the squad while 10 are from Blues, six from Chiefs, five from Hurricanes and three from Highlanders.

New Zealand squad

Forwards: Asafo Aumua, Dane Coles, Codie Taylor, Alex Hodgman, Nepo Laulala, Tyrel Lomax, Joe Moody, Karl Tu’inukuafe, Ofa Tuungafasi, Quinten Strange, Patrick Tuipulotu, Tupou Vaa’i, Samuel Whitelock, Sam Cane (c), Shannon Frizell, Cullen Grace, Akira Ioane, Dalton Papalii, Ardie Savea, Hoskins Sotutu

Backs: TJ Perenara, Aaron Smith, Brad Weber, Beauden Barrett, Richie Mo’unga, Braydon Ennor, Jack Goodhue, Rieko Ioane, Anton Lienert-Brown, Jordie Barrett, George Bridge, Caleb Clarke, Will Jordan, Damian McKenzie, Sevu Reece