Matchday squads unveiled for North v South game

Sam Whitelock will captain the South team
Sam Whitelock will captain the South team

The matchday squads for the upcoming North v South match to be played at Sky Stadium in Wellington has been confirmed.

The North team captained by Patrick Tuipulotu and coached by John Plumtree will see Damian McKenzie slotted at fullback along with Sevu Reece and Caleb Clarke at wings. Reiko Ioane and Anton Lienert-Brown will form centre partnership while Beauden Barrett will take the kicking responsibility forming halfback partnership with TJ Perenara.

Tuipulotu has been positioned at second row with Ofa Tuungafasi while the from comprise of Ofa Tuungafasi, Asafo Aumua and Karl Tu’inukuafe.

The South team will see All Blacks' Richie Mo’unga at fly-half role and Brad Weber at scrum-half. The South line-up is dominated by Crusaders with Chiefs prop Nepo Laulala also part of the tight five.

George Bridge, Will Jordan, Jordie Barrett will be part of back three with Jack Goodhue and Braydon Ennor at centre. Sam Whitelock will captain the side at second row that also has Mitchell Dunshea.

“The only thing missing at the stadium will be the fans and we’re really disappointed we can’t share the experience there with them,” said South Head coach Brad Mooar.

“We know there will be a huge audience watching at home so we hope they’ll enjoy what’s shaping up as match for the history books.”


North: 15 Damian McKenzie, 14 Sevu Reece, 13 Rieko Ioane, 12 Anton Lienert-Brown, 11 Caleb Clarke, 10 Beauden Barrett, 9 TJ Perenara, 8 Hoskins Sotutu, 7 Ardie Savea, 6 Akira Ioane, 5 Tupou Vaa’i, 4 Patrick Tuipulotu (captain), 3 Ofa Tuungafasi, 2 Asafo Aumua, 1 Karl Tu’inukuafe.

Replacements: 16 Ash Dixon, 17 Ayden Johnstone, 18 Angus Ta’avao, 19 Scott Scrafton, 20 Dalton Papalii, 21 Aaron Smith, 22 Peter Umaga-Jensen, 23 Mitchell Hunt.

South: 15 Jordie Barrett, 14 Will Jordan, 13 Brayden Ennor, 12 Jack Goodhue, 11 George Bridge, 10 Richie Mo’unga, 9 Brad Weber, 8 Tom Sanders, 7 Tom Christie, 6 Shannon Frizell, 5 Mitchell Dunshea, 4 Sam Whitelock (captain), 3 Nepo Laulala, 2 Codie Taylor, 1 Joe Moody.

Replacements: 16 Liam Coltman, 17 George Bower, 18 Tyrel Lomax, 19 Manaaki Selby-Rickit, 20 Dillon Hunt, 21 Finlay Christie, 22 Josh Ioane, 23 Leicester Faingaanuku.

Super Rugby Points Table