Match Report: Pro14: Cardiff Blues 10-19 Glasgow

Huw Jones was the sole try-scorer for Glasgow
Huw Jones was the sole try-scorer for Glasgow

Cardiff Blues 10-19 Glasgow, Rodney Parade

Huw Jones scored a try while Pete Horne kicked three penalties as Glasgow Warriors defeated Cardiff Blues 19-10 in the 8th round of Pro14 at Rodney Parade.

This is Glasgow's second win from seven games as they are positioned fourth in Conference A while Cardiff Blues are fourth in Conference B.

Jarrod Evans started the proceedings with a third minute penalty goal for the Blues. Pete Horne had a chance to level the scores but missed his chances. However, he made amends with a three-pointer in the 14th minute to level the scores.

In a tricky period, Blues had a try turned down with Tomos Williams sending Owen Lane over the line with a kick but replays showed Gwilym Bradley had a knock-on. Their troubles compounded as Brad Thyer left the field injury for a head injury assessment.

Horne with his second penalty at the stroke of half-time ensured the Scottish regional side had a slender three-point lead in the opening half.

The Blues seized the lead with Aled Summerhill fed Kristian Dacey over the line in the 45th minute and Evans improved it making the scoreline 10-6. Their momentum dipped when Bradley was sin-binned for a deliberate knock on and Horne immediately responded with a three-pointer to bring the gap down to one point.

The Blues returned back to full strength but in a decisive 70th minute, Jones intercepted a pass from Mason Grady to dot down while a conversion from Thomson saw the Scottish regional side complete a nine-point victory.

Team line-up

Cardiff Blues: Matthew Morgan; Owen Lane, Rey Lee-Lo, Ben Thomas, Aled Summerhill; Jarrod Evans, Tomos Williams; Brad Thyer, Kristian Dacey, Dmitri Arhip, Ben Murphy, Rory Thornton, James Ratti, Gwilym Bradley, Josh Turnbull.

Reserves: Ethan Lewis, Corey Domachowski, Keiron Assiratti, Alun Lawrence, Sam Moore, Jamie Hill, Mason Grady, Hallam Amos.

Glasgow Warriors: Glenn Bryce, Lee Jones, Nick Grigg, Robbie Fergusson, Ratu Tagive, Peter Horne, Sean Kennedy; Aki Seiuli, Grant Stewart, Enrique Pieretto, Lewis Bean, Kiran McDonald, Rob Harley, Tom Gordon, Ryan Wilson

Reserves: Johnny Matthews, Alex Allan, D'Arcy Rae, Fotu Lokotui, TJ Ioane, Jamie Dobie, Brandon Thomson, Huw Jones.