Match Centre: European Challenge Cup semi-final: Lyon 20-18 Wasps

Jimmy Gopperth's effort went in vain for Wasps
Jimmy Gopperth's effort went in vain for Wasps

Lyon 20-18 Wasps, Matmut Stadium de Gerland

Lyon managed to overcome a late try from Jimmy Gopperth as they sealed a 20-18 victory at Matmut Stadium de Gerland to progress to the finals of the European Challenge Cup.

The French club will now face the winner of Toulon and Saracens that will be played at Stade Félix Mayol later in the day.

Lyon went on to attack early but were held firm by defence from Wasps. The opening points eventually came in the 23rd minute as Wasps went on to win a line out from a 5m distance following a 50/22 kick from Jacob Umaga. Dan Robson eventually went over the line with a dive from close range but Gopperth missed out on the conversion.

The French side opened their account in the 35th minute after Leo Berdeu slotted a penalty goal from a 40m distance but his efforts were cancelled out with Gopperth kicking a three-pointer of his own in the 38th minute as Wasps headed into the break with a 3-8 lead.

Lyon were the quickest to get off the block in the second half as a well timed pass from Guillaume Marchand allowed Berdeu to touchdown and the fly-half kicked the extras to ensure the scoreline became 10-8.

A second Gopperth penalty kick in the 51st minute restored the lead for Wasps but the momentum shifted towards Lyon as Yanis Charcosset powered from close range in the 53rd minute and Berdeu followed with the extras to make it 17-11.

Berdeu missed two back to back penalties in the 58th and 60th minutes but managed to get his third kick right in the 64th minute to make it 20-11 which proved just enough despite a late try from Gopperth in the 73rd minute.

Team line up:

Lyon: Arnold; Tuisova, Barassi, Ngatai, Niniashvili; Berdeu, Couilloud; S Taofifenua, Marchand, Bamba, Kpoku, R Taofifenua, Cretin, Saginadze, Sobela

Reserves: Charcosset, Rey, Kodela, Mayanavanua, Goujon, Doussain, Lambey, Mignot.

Wasps: Umaga; Hougaard, Fekitoa, Gopperth, Bassett; Atkinson, Robson; West, Oghre, Alo, Launchbury, Stooke, Shields, J Willis, Barbeary.

Reserves: Frost, Harris, Millar-Mills, Gaskell, T Willis, Porter, Spink, Kibirige.