Joe Simmonds named Aviva Premiership Rugby player of the month

Joe Simmonds named Aviva Premiership Rugby Player of the Month for March
Joe Simmonds named Aviva Premiership Rugby Player of the Month for March

Exeter Chiefs outside-half Joe Simmonds has today been named Aviva Premiership Rugby Player of the Month for March 2018.

Simmonds made a big impact for the Chiefs in March, instrumental in crucial wins over Saracens and Bath, leaving his club at the top of the Aviva Premiership Rugby table.

And Rugby World Cup winner Will Greenwood said: “I love it when a kid bides his time and then takes his chance.

“Gareth Steenson is part of the furniture at Exeter so young Joe has had to be patient, and he has clearly been watching and learning.

“Joe looks in total control of this very very good Exeter Chiefs team. He has pace, zip, is tough and kicks his goals. He is very classy indeed.”

Simmonds was judged by a panel of experts as the player who made the biggest impact in the League over the month March. He was involved in a four-way battle for the latest title, eventually beating Sale Sharks scrum-half Faf de Klerk, Gloucester Rugby centre Henry Trinder and Leicester Tigers full-back Telusa Veaniu to the title.

Simmonds was voted for by a panel of media professionals based on his performances in November – Nick Mullins (BT Sport), Alastair Eykyn (BT Sport), Mick Cleary (The Daily Telegraph), Sarah Mockford (Rugby World), Jonny Fordham (The Sun), Jill Douglas (ITV Sport), Chris Jones (BBC 5 Live), David Rogers (Getty Images) and Tom Hamilton (ESPN). The panel was chaired by Paul Morgan, Premiership Rugby's Communications Director.

Simmonds wins a trophy and a £250 donation to the charity of his choice.

Winners in the 2017-18 season
March – Joe Simmonds (Exeter Chiefs)
February – Jack Willis (Wasps)
December – Josh Adams (Worcester Warriors)
November – Ruan Ackermann (Gloucester Rugby)
October – Jonny May (Leicester Tigers)
September – Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints)

Winners in the 2016-17 season
April – Taulupe Faletau (Bath Rugby)
March – Christian Wade (Wasps)
February – James Short (Exeter Chiefs)
December – Tom Varndell (Bristol Rugby)
November – Freddie Burns (Leicester Tigers)
October – Mako Vunipola (Saracens)
September – Jimmy Gopperth (Wasps)

Winners in the 2015-16 season
October – Nick Evans (Harlequins)
November – Nathan Hughes (Wasps)
December – Maro Itoje (Saracens
January – Thomas Waldrom (Exeter Chiefs)
February – George Smith (Wasps)
March – Francois Hougaard (Worcester Warriors)
April – Teimana Harrison (Northampton Saints)

Winners in the 2014-15 season
September – Kyle Eastmond (Bath Rugby)
October – Semesa Rokoduguni (Bath Rugby)
November – Thomas Waldrom (Exeter Chiefs)
December – Samu Manoa (Northampton Saints)
January – Jonathan Joseph (Bath Rugby)
February – Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs)
March – Elliot Daly (Wasps)
April – Joe Simpson (Wasps)
Winners in the 2013-14 season
September – Jacques Burger (Saracens)
October – Samu Manoa (Northampton Saints)
November - George Ford (Bath Rugby)
December – Nick Easter (Harlequins)
January – Dylan Hartley (Northampton Saints)
February – Vereniki Goneva (Leicester Tigers)
March – Danny Cipriani (Sale Sharks)
April – Chris Ashton (Saracens)