Joe Schmidt names 38-man Wallabies squad for Test series against Wales and Georgia

Kutley Beale makes a return to Australian squad
Kutley Beale makes a return to Australian squad

Australia head coach Joe Schmidt has named 12 uncapped players in the 38-man squad for the upcoming Tests against Wales and Georgia.

Veteran Kurtley Beale, who was cleared of a sexual assault and returned to play Super Rugby for Western Force returns to add to his 95 Test caps. Former All Blacks prop Alex Hodgman is also included after he is eligible to represent the Wallabies while Noah Lolesio also returns for the first time since 2022.

James Slipper with 134 caps is the highest experienced player in the squad with Josh Nasser and Tom Lynagh are part of the uncapped members in the side.

"Look, he's in the squad, you know, and if you're in the squad, you're a chance to put the boots on in a 23 at some stage during the three-week period," Schmidt said of Beale.

"Kurtley's played well. Feedback from the force has been really positive about his influence. And even talking to the guys like Ben Donaldson, you know, it just frees Ben up to see what he needs to see and leave, you know, the wider spaces to Kurtley to boss."

The Brumbies' Corey Toole has been released to the Australia sevens program, but is likely to feature later in the year.

"I think it's a massive pinnacle event [Paris Olympics] for Rugby Australia, and I had a discussion with Corey, and Corey was happy to prioritise in the short term the Olympics. And then, you know, I think Corey will be a real kind of asset to us if selected beyond that."

The squad will assemble in Brisbane on Sunday for a four-day camp. They will be facing Wales on 6th and 13th July before locking horns with Georgia on 20th July.

Australia squad:

Forwards: Allan Alaalatoa, Angus Blyth, Charlie Cale, Matt Faessler, Nick Frost, Langi Gleeson, Alex Hodgman, Tom Hooper, Isaac Kailea, Fraser McReight, Josh Nasser, Zane Nonggorr, Billy Pollard, Lukhan Salakaia-Loto, Ryan Smith, James Slipper, Taniela Tupou, Rob Valetini, Jeremy Williams, Harry Wilson, Liam Wright

Backs: Kurtley Beale, Filipo Daugunu, Ben Donaldson, David Feliuai, Josh Flook, Jake Gordon, Len Ikitau, Andrew Kellaway, Darby Lancaster, Noah Lolesio, Tom Lynagh, Tate McDermott, Hunter Paisami, Dylan Pietsch, Hamish Stewart, Nic White, Tom Wright