Jasper Wiese to start for South Africa in second Test against Lions

South Africa coach Jacques Nienaber
South Africa coach Jacques Nienaber
©Steve Haag

South Africa have made three changes for the second Test against the British and Irish Lions to be played in Cape Town on Saturday.

Leicester No 8 Jasper Wiese comes into the starting line up as Kwagga Smith is dropped to the bench while Steven Kitshoff is named at loosehead prop after Ox Nche is ruled out with a neck injury.

The final change also comes in the front row with Frans Malherbe and Trevor Nyakane swapping places while Vincent Koch and Marco van Staden also is added among the replacements.

“This is a massive game for us – it’s do or die in order to stay in the race to win the series,” Nienaber said.

“We have selected a team that offers continuity in selection, but also one that we thought would be the best suited to achieve the objectives we have set for this match.

“We disappointed ourselves last week, and we all know how important it is to bounce back with a strong performance and show our fighting spirit and pride as a team and nation.”

South Africa starting XV: 15 Willie le Roux, 14 Cheslin Kolbe, 13 Lukhanyo Am, 12 Damian de Allende, 11 Makazole Mapimpi, 10 Handré Pollard, 9 Faf de Klerk, 8 Jasper Wiese, 7 Pieter-Steph du Toit, 6 Siya Kolisi (captain), 5 Franco Mostert, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Frans Malherbe, 2 Bongi Mbonambi, 1 Steven Kitshoff

Reserves: 16 Malcolm Marx, 17 Trevor Nyakane, 18 Vincent Koch, 19 Lood de Jager, 20 Marco van Staden, 21 Kwagga Smith, 22 Herschel Jantjies, 23 Damian Willemse