Japan shortlisted in World Rugby Team of the Year

Japan reached the quarter-final of World Cup
Japan reached the quarter-final of World Cup
©Steve Haag

Japan's impressive performance in the World Cup has seen them shortlisted in the World Rugby Team of the Year.

The Brave Blossoms registered wins over Ireland and Scotland in the showpiece event that saw them reach the quarter-finals before their journey ended with a defeat to South Africa.

Japan will be joined by England, who overcame a strong All Blacks side in the semi-final and are yet to face a defeat in the tournament.

South Africa also had an outstanding year as they clinched the Rugby Championship title and now will lock horns with Eddie Jones' men in the final of the World Cup as they eye their third title.

New Zealand and Wales also join the list of five teams with both the teams managed to reach the semi-finals in the World Cup before their journey was ended with defeat to England and South Africa respectively. Warren Gatland's men also enjoyed Grand Slam success in Six Nations earlier this year.

South Africa's Rassie Erasmus, Wales' Warren Gatland, New Zealand's Steve Hansen, England's Eddie Jones along with Japan's Jamie Joseph have also been shortlisted for World Rugby Coach of the Year Award.

“This has been an incredible year of men’s and women’s international 15s and sevens and this shortlist reflects those who have excelled on the biggest rugby stage of the year," said World Rugby Chairman Sir Bill Beaumont.

“I would like to congratulate all on their selection as we look forward to what will be a compelling finale to Rugby World Cup 2019 and a fitting celebration of rugby friendship, unity and excellence at the World Rugby Awards.”


2019 Rugby World Cup Fixtures & Results


2019 Rugby World Cup Points Table