Jaco van der Walt to make Scotland debut against Ireland

Scotland head coach Gregor Townsend
Scotland head coach Gregor Townsend

Scotland head coach Gregor Townsend has made six changes to the starting line-up for the third place play-off in the Autumn Nations Cup against Ireland.

Stuart Hogg will captain the side and retain his fullback position with Darcy Graham returning at right wing along with Duhan van der Merwe at left. Chris Harris will be joined by Duncan Taylor at midfield while debutant Jaco van der Walt has been handed the fly-half role with Ali Price at scrum-half.

The front-row sees a couple of changes with Rory Sutherland and Zander Fagerson joining Fraser Brown at front row. Jonny Gray and Scott Cummings are retained at second row.

The back row also sees a change with Jamie Ritchie moving to openside and Blade Thomson comes in at blindside.

Scotland starting XV: 15 Stuart Hogg (c), 14 Darcy Graham, 13 Chris Harris, 12 Duncan Taylor, 11 Duhan van der Merwe, 10 Jaco van der Walt, 9 Ali Price, 8 Matt Fagerson, 7 Jamie Ritchie, 6 Blade Thomson, 5 Jonny Gray, 4 Scott Cummings, 3 Zander Fagerson, 2 Fraser Brown, 1 Rory Sutherland

Reserves: 16 Stuart McInally, 17 Oli Kebble, 18 Willem Nel, 19 Sam Skinner, 20 Blair Cowan, 21 Sam Hidalgo-Clyne, 22 Huw Jones, 23 Sean Maitland

Scotland Fixtures